April 05, 2019



Changes to Division Periodicals

Exciting changes are under way in the periodicals you receive as part of your membership in the ABA General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Division. You hold in your hands the last stand-alone issue of Best of ABA Sections. Starting in 2012, each issue of GPSolo magazine will contain several of these digested articles, selected especially for our readers from among the ABA’s top publications. Similarly, technology and practice management content is being worked into every issue of GPSolo magazine. “Road Warrior” is now a regular column, and starting next issue at least one feature article will focus on the legal tech relevant to each issue’s theme. The final stand-alone issue of the Technology & Practice Guide will be published in December 2011.

Our electronic periodicals have also been revamped. The Division’s four electronic newsletters—GPSolo Law Trends & News, GPSolo Technology eReport, Solo, and The Buzz—are now consolidated into a single, monthly e-newsletter: GPSolo eReport.

These changes will ensure that every print issue of GPSolo magazine and every electronic issue of GPSolo eReport delivers the content you need in a uniform, convenient, easy-to-navigate publication. We hope you will enjoy the changes.


Division Leadership for 2011–2012

The Division is pleased to announce its slate of leaders for the 2011–2012 Bar Year:

Executive Committee:

Chair: Laura V. Farber

Chair-Elect: Benes Z. Aldana

Vice Chair: Jennifer A. Rymell

Secretary: Amy Lin Meyerson

Immediate Past Chair: Joseph A. DeWoskin

Budget Officer: Kathleen J. Hopkins

Revenue Development Director: Alan O. Olson

Division Delegates to the House of Delegates: William T. Hogan III, Dwight L. Smith, and James M. Durant III

New Council Members-at-Large: Noah C. Davis, Herman F. Gierke III, Rick L. Lambert, Jeffrey C. Robinson, and Sarah R. Sharp Theophilus

Board of Governors Liaison: Michelle A. Behnke

Young Lawyers Division Liaison: Matthew B. Butler

Law Student Division Liaison: Zita M. Kline

Young Lawyer Fellows: Michael O. Walker and Jennifer L. Zahradnik

Diversity Fellows: Uzodima Frank Aba-Onu, Jasmin N. French, Rinky S. Parwani, and Eneida M. Roman


Call for Nominations of 2012–2013 Officers and Council Members

The following members have been appointed to serve as the Nominating Committee for the 2011–2012 Bar Year: Chauntis T. Jenkins (Chair), Jeffrey M. Allen, Richard A. DeMichele Jr., Alan A. Fowler, and Patricia A. Sexton.

The Nominating Committee will meet during the 2011 Fall Meeting to nominate individuals for the positions of Secretary and Members-at-Large of the Council. In accordance with §4.4 of the bylaws, the committee will nominate five Council Members-at-Large to serve four-year terms. Minority applicants are encouraged. The duties, terms of office, and eligibility requirements for each of the positions to be filled are outlined in the Division bylaws. The questionnaires may be found on our website. Please return your completed questionnaire to the Division Office via e-mail or fax to 312/988-5711, or mail it directly to ABA General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Division, 321 N. Clark St., Chicago, IL 60654.


GPSolo 2011 Fall Meeting and National Solo & Small Firm Conference

October 20–22, 2011
Westin Denver Downtown Hotel
Denver, Colorado

Join us in Denver, Colorado, as we start the Fall Meeting with governance meetings and a Welcome Reception on Thursday. The Division Council will meet on Friday morning, followed by the Difference Makers Awards Luncheon, with Keynote Speaker Sonia Nazario, Winner of the Pulitzer Prize. The National Solo & Small Firm Conference will begin after lunch on Friday and will end Saturday afternoon. All of the CLE programs will be webcasted and available during and after the meeting. Additionally, three ABA entities will be joining us: the Standing Committee on Group and Prepaid Legal Services, the Commission on Mental and Physical Disability Law, and the Commission on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity.

To book a room for the event, call the hotel directly at 303/572-9100 and mention the 2011 ABA GPSolo Fall Meeting to receive the special low rate of $159 single/double. The Division has reserved a limited number of rooms at the discounted rate, which are available on a first-come, first-served basis until Wednesday, September 28, 2011, at 5:00 pm Central Time. Please confirm your reservations early!


Premium Content For:
  • Solo, Small Firm and General Practice Division
Join - Now