January 01, 2011

General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Division News


Leadership Coalition for Solo and Small Firm Lawyers

The Leadership Coalition for Solo and Small Firm Lawyers first met at the 2010 American Bar Association Midyear Meeting in Orlando, Florida, to discuss cooperation between ABA State Delegates (and other Association leaders) and the ABA General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Division Executive Committee to gauge interest in organizing a leadership group to work on behalf of solo and small firm lawyers’ issues within the ABA structure and to develop programs and policies for the ABA that would promote solo and small firm lawyer participation in the ABA. The Coalition was Chaired by James M. Durant III (GPSolo Immediate Past Chair) and James R. Silkenat (former ABA State Delegate from New York). There was also strong participation by Joseph A. DeWoskin (GPSolo Chair), Laura V. Farber (GPSolo Chair-Elect), and Harvey B. Rubenstein, ABA State Delegate from Delaware. At that time, there were more than 50 members participating in the Coalition, including 23 ABA State Delegates (the leaders of the various State Delegations in the ABA House of Delegates). There was considerable interest and enthusiasm from this group to support solo and small firm issues. A Coalition conference call in May and a subsequent in-person meeting in August at the ABA Annual Meeting in San Francisco, California, were held. Some substantive issues the Coalition has identified include: Ethics 20/20; technology, communications, and support; ABA dues and membership; ABA appointments to Standing Committees and Commissions; resolutions for the ABA House of Delegates; and support from the ABA Conference of State Delegates. GPSolo has been able to inform State Delegates and other Association leaders about the many products and services the Division already has produced and to encourage membership in the Division. The Coalition will meet this February at the 2011 Midyear Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia. If you have any questions or know of an ABA State Delegate or other leader who would like to participate, please contact Joseph DeWoskin or James Silkenat.


GPSolo Division Nominating Committee Report

The ABA General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Division Nominating Committee, consisting of Chair N. Kay Bridger-Riley, Chauntis T. Jenkins, Alan O. Olson, Stephen B. Rosales, and Patricia A. Sexton, met during the 2010 Fall Meeting in Austin, Texas. The Committee submitted the following slate for the election of Officers and Council Members-at-Large for the 2011–2012 Bar Year pursuant to Article 7 of the GPSolo Division Bylaws.

For the position of Division Vice Chair, the Committee nominates Jennifer A. Rymell of Fort Worth, Texas. She currently serves our Division as Secretary.

For the position of Division Secretary, the Committee nominates Amy Lin Meyerson of Weston, Connecticut.

For the position of Council Member-at-Large, the Committee nominates Noah C. Davis of Seattle, Washington.

For the position of Council Member-at-Large, the Committee nominates Rick L. Lambert of Dallas, Texas.

For the position of Council Member-at-Large, the Committee nominates Jeffrey C. Robinson of Selma, Alabama.

For the position of Council Member-at-Large, the Committee nominates Sarah Sharp Theophilus of Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

For the position of Council Member-at-Large, the Committee nominates H. F. “Sparky” Gierke of Orlando, Florida.

The GPSolo Division wishes to thank all of the candidates who submitted nominations for the positions of Officers and Council Members-at-Large, and for their support to the Division.

A complete Nominating Committee report is posted on the GPSolo Division’s website and is published in the January 2011 issue of the The Buzz e-newsletter, distributed to all members of the Division.

For further information you may contact the GPSolo Division office at 312/988-5648 or genpractice@americanbar.org.


2011 GPSolo Division Spring Meeting

May 12–14
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
St. Louis, Missouri

Don’t forget to register for the ABA GPSolo Division’s Spring Meeting cosponsored by the Bar Association of Metropolitan St. Louis. Meeting highlights include: on Thursday, May 12, a welcome reception; on Friday, May 13, committee meetings, the Solo and Small Firm Awards Ceremony, a networking event at the St. Louis Zoo, and the hospitality suite; and on Saturday, May 14, committee meetings, the Division Council meeting, and the hospitality suite.

The Division has reserved a number of rooms at a reduced rate, which are available on a first-come, first-served basis until Wednesday, April 20, 2011, at 5:00 pm (CST). To receive the special room rate of $169, which includes complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, please contact the hotel directly at 314/881-5800 and identify yourself as an ABA GPSolo attendee. It is recommended that you confirm your reservation early in order to guarantee your preferred dates. Please check with the hotel to confirm the cancellation policy for individual guest room reservations.

Premium Content For:
  • Solo, Small Firm and General Practice Division
Join - Now