chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

About the Program

The ABA Solo, Small Firm and General Practice Division (GPSolo) Young Lawyers Fellowship Program provides leadership opportunities for young lawyers. GPSolo is committed to increasing the participation of young lawyers in Division activities. This program will provide young lawyers the opportunity to become integrally involved in the Division.

A candidate must be an active member of the ABA Young Lawyers Division (YLD), or a previously active member who has aged out within the past three years. Successful candidates will have demonstrated involvement in bar association and non-bar related activities. Candidates do not need to be current members of GPSolo, but must join upon selection.
GPSolo’s Young Lawyers Committee will select two applicants to serve as fellows for the following bar year. The selection will be based on the individual’s achievement and commitment to the organized bar and GPSolo’s mission and goals.
Fellows will be required to attend the Division's Fall meeting and Spring meeting with reimbursement of up to $500 for airfare and a $100 per diem for two days for each meeting. Fellows may also show their commitment to the Division by attending the ABA Annual Meeting; however, reimbursement for this meeting is not available.

The selected fellows will be appointed to the GPSolo Young Lawyers Committee and will be expected to complete a substantive project for the Division. Each fellow will also be paired with a mentor. Finally, fellows must remain an active member of the Division for two years after their Fellowship concludes.
For further information, please contact the Division at [email protected].

2023–2024 Young Lawyers Fellows

  • Jasmine E. Gomez, Cerritos, CA
  • Linchi Liang, Washington, DC

Past Young Lawyers Fellows


  • Emily A. AlbrechtSeattle, WA
  • Victoria E. McIntyre, Covington, LA 


  • Todd Berman, Lake Forest, CA
  • Corey Tisdale, Alexandria, VA


  • Paige Griffith, Missoula, MT 
  • Miriah Holden, Honolulu, HI


  • Felicia M. Hamilton, Shreveport, LA
  • Labrae J. McMillan, Marietta, GA


  • Julie T. Houth, La Jolla, CA
  • Amber M. Rush, Vancouver, WA


  • Jordan L. Couch, University Place, WA
  • Maria K. Sarantakis, Western Springs, IL


  • Deepinder “Deepa” Goraya, Washington, DC
  • Kristopher Lyle, Overland Park, KS


  • Elijah Marchbanks, Killeen, TX
  • Ronza Rafo, San Diego, CA


  • Amanda McNeil, Killeen, TX
  • Sahmra Stevenson-Smith, Greenbelt, MD


  • Brian Charville, Boston, MA
  • Chisa Putman, Rock Hill, SC


  • J. Lee Hoffoss, Jr., Lake Charles, LA
  • Jennifer Heald Kirkpatrick, Oklahoma City, OK


  • Jennifer L. Zahradnik, Belle Plaine, IA
  • Michael O. Walker, Norfolk, VA


  • Joel Carney, Omaha, NE
  • Kara Nyquist, Anchorage, AK


  • Doris Gruntmeir, Indianapolis, IN
  • Sarah Sharp Theophilus, Sioux Falls, SD


  • Travis Cushman, Great Falls, MT
  • Noah Davis, Seattle, WA


  • Christina Albano, Frisco, TX
  • Jennifer Hilsabeck, Las Vegas, NV


  • Robert Spoja, Billings, MT
  • Beth Abramson, New Orleans, LA