Division Officers and Council Members

Chair: Hon. Susan N. Burke 
Hennepin County District Court
Minneapolis, MN

Chair-Elect: Sharon E. Pandak 
Greehan, Taves, Pandak & Stoner, PLLC
Woodbridge, VA

Vice-Chair: Steve Vieux
San Francisco, CA

Secretary: Edward Monahan
Kentucky Public Advocate
Department of Public Advocacy
Frankfort, KY

Treasurer: Wendy J. Muchman
Chief of Litigation & Professional Education
Attorney Registration & Disciplinary Commission
Chicago, IL

Division Delegates:
Gregory G. Brooker
Minneapolis, MN

Col. Alexander W. Purdue
Sante Fe, NM

Immediate Past Chair: Janet M. Coulter
Long Beach, CA

Council Members
Gary L. Anderson

Assistant United States Attorney
San Antonio, TX

Matthew Archer-Beck
Securities and Exchange Commission
Washington, DC

Albert C. Asphall
Assistant Corporation Counsel
City of Paterson
Paterson, NJ

Joan Burke
Executive Director
Medical Practitioner Review Panel
State Board of Medical Examiners
Trenton, NJ

James Melbourne Durant III 
Chief Counsel 
Office of Science
U.S. Department of Energy
Lemont, IL

Hon. Edwin L. Felter, Jr.
Office of Administrative Courts
Denver, CO

Paula J. Frederick
General Counsel
State Bar of Georgia

Jacqueline Hallinan
Assistant Attorney General
Office of the WV Attorney General

J. Todd Hedgepeth
Support Center, Air Force’s Texas Labor Law Field
Garden Ridge, TX

Kristine B. Kassekert
Arlington, VA

Gilda Mariani
Special Investigative Counsel
NY County District Attorney's Office
New York, NY

Regina Nassen
Office of the Pima County Attorney
Civil Division
Tucson, AZ

Hon. Timothy L. Nemechek
Colorado Office of Administrative Courts
Denver, CO

Howard A. Pohl
Florida Department of Financial Services
Division of Insurance Fraud
Hollywood, FL

Adele Rapport
Chicago, IL

Liani Reeves
Portland, OR

Hon. Ira Sandron

National Labor Relations Board
Washington, DC

Charles Stertz
Outagamie County District Attorney’s Office
Appleton, WI

Hon. John R. Tunheim
U.S. District Court Judge
District of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN

William J. Weigel
Litigation Counsel
Wisconsin Office of Lawyer Regulation
Madison, WI

Board of Governors Liaison
Myles Lynk
Phoenix, AZ

Law Student Division Liaison 
Raven Moore

Pittsburgh, PA

Young Lawyers Division Liaison 
Dwight Lacy
Washington, DC

Former Division Chairs


Kenneth J. Hodson, Washington, DC
Ernest D. Preate, Jr., Scranton, PA
J. Edwin Dietel, Bethesda, MD
Pamila J. Brown, Ellicott City, MD
General Earl E. Anderson, Vienna, VA
Hon. John R. Tunheim, Minneapolis, MN
Brenda P. Murray, Chevy Chase, MD
Daniel Lawrence Skoler, Bethesda, MD
John J. Copelan, Jr., Coral Springs, FL
Cynthia Rapp, Washington, DC
David J. DeVries, Mechanicsburg, PA
Maureen Essex, Baltimore, MD
Joseph W. Downey, Arlington, VA
David A. Anderson, Dunn Loring, VA
Allen E. Giles, Saint Paul, MN
Jacquelynn B. Rothstein, Madison, WI
Jorge L. Fernandez, Miami, FL
Darcee S. Siegel, North Miami Beach, FL
General Kenneth D. Gray, Morgantown, WV
Gwendolyn D. Hodge, Little Rock, AR
Gary L. Anderson, San Antonio, TX
Susan A. Low, Des Moines, IA
Hon. Edwin L. Felter, Jr., Denver, CO
Col. Alexander W. Purdue, Los Alamos, NM
Gregory G. Brooker, Minneapolis, MN
Joan M. Burke, Trenton, NJ
Pauline A. Weaver, Fremont, CA
Janet M. Coulter, Long Beach, CA

Information about Serving on Council
In the spring, the Division contacts state bars, relevant ABA entities and ABA affiliated organizations seeking nominations to council. The Division’s Nominating Committee also nominates at-large members to council. Nominees then stand for election in August at the ABA Annual Meeting. Council member terms are three years and they are eligible to serve two three-year terms. Council members are required to attend three council meetings per year.