chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
November 01, 2020 Section News

Section News

New FLS Leaders Elected in Zoom Meeting

Section members attending the 2020 ABA Section of Family Law Annual Meeting via Zoom elected the following Officers and Council members:

Chair-Elect: Candace B. Peeples
Vice-Chair: Thad F. Woody
Secretary: Brian M. Karpf
Section Delegate: Scott N. Friedman
Region III Representative: Andrea L. Cozza
Region V Representative: Judith A. Hoechst
Council Members-at-Large: Jennifer A. Brandt and Lilka B. Martinez

Nominations Open for 2021–2022 Leadership

The Nominating Committee, chaired by Chair-Elect Candace B. Peeples, is accepting nominations for the 2021 elections to be held in Toronto, ON, Canada. Nominating Committee members include Brian J. Blitz (Chicago, IL), Melissa J. Avery (Indianapolis, IN), Kelli B. Hooper (Fayetteville, GA), and Judith A. Hoechst (Littleton, CO).

The Committee seeks nominations for the following positions:

  •  Chair-Elect (one-year term)
  • Vice Chair (one-yea term)
  • Secretary (one-year term)
  • Section Delegate (expiring 2024)
  • At-Large Council Representatives (two positions, three-year terms expiring 2024)
  • Region II Representative (three-year term expiring 2024) composed of Maryland, District of Columbia, Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi
  • Region IV Representative (three-year term expiring 2024) composed of Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri, Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota, North Dakota

To be considered for nomination, submit a letter of interest, a brief biography, and a nomination data form ( by November 1, 2020. Send your letter via e-mail with Word attachments to Section Director Cindy Swan, [email protected], and Chair-Elect Candace B. Peeples, [email protected].

The material in all ABA publications is copyrighted and may be reprinted by permission only. Request reprint permission here.