October 24, 2018 Section Highlights

Section Highlights

By Cindy Swan

Annual Meeting Recap

The ABA Section of Family Law’s Annual Meeting was held August 2–4, 2018, in Chicago. On Thursday, August 2, the Section hosted two well-attended CLE-in-the-City programs at the Schiller, DuCanto & Fleck law firm: “100 Days Before Trial,” given by Steven N. Peskind, and “Highlights of the New Tax Code for Family Lawyers,” presented by Michelle Gallagher, John Schumacher, and Patrick T. Ryan. That evening, Section members enjoyed a Cubs game at historic Wrigley Field. The next day, the Sharon L. Corbitt Award was given to attorney Alicia Aiken, director of the Confidentiality Institute, a national organization empowering people to protect privacy for crime victims. At the Annual Awards luncheon on Saturday, August 4, past Section Chair and current FLS House of Delegates member Anita M. Ventrelli received the Chair’s Award (for the second time in her career) for her many contributions of time and talent to the ABA Family Law Section. Anita did not rest on her laurels, and two days later, on Monday, August 6, she stepped up to skillfully present the Family Law Section’s Resolution 102A, the “Alimony Resolution,” to the ABA House of Delegates. Resolution 102A was then approved and adopted by the House.

Premium Content For:
  • Family Law Section
Join - Now