September 01, 2013

People on the Move

Jim Arnold

Firm moves

Joseph Koncelik recently joined Tucker Ellis LLP in its Cleveland office. Koncelik was previously with Frantz Ward LLP in Cleveland.

John J. McAleese III recently joined McCarter & English LLP as a partner in its Philadelphia office, where he will continue his environmental practice. McAleese was previously with Morgan Lewis & Bockius in Philadelphia.

Roger Stark has joined Stoel Rives LLP in their Washington, D.C. office as a partner in the firm’s Corporate Group, and will work closely with the firm’s Energy Group. Stark is co-chair of the Section’s Renewable, Alternative, and Distributed Energy Resources Committee.

Ken Warren formed Warren Glass LLP in Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvannia, a suburb of Philadelphia. Warren was previously with Hangley Aronchick Segal Pudlin & Schiller. He is a past chair of the Section.

Corporate moves

Megan McCulloch has joined the EH&S Legal group at The Dow Chemical Company in Midland, Michigan. McCulloch was formerly a partner at Honigman Miller Schwartz and Cohn LLP in Detroit. She is the chair of the Section’s Book Publishing Board.

Government moves

Jeff Dennis is now Director, Division of Policy Development, in the Office of Energy Policy and Innovation at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. In that role, Dennis leads efforts to evaluate the effectiveness of existing Commission policies and to identify new and emerging policy issues impacting the Commission’s statutory responsibilities. He is the Section’s budget officer. Dennis has held various Section leadership positions including chair of the 2013 Public Lands and Resources Law Symposium, chair of the Energy and Natural Resources Market Regulation Committee, chair for the Section’s activities at the 2010 ABA Annual Meeting (2010), co-chair of the Restructuring of the Electric Industry Committee, and liaison to the ABA Young Lawyers Division,

This and that

Josh Bloom is currently serving as chair of the Environmental Law Section of the Bar Association of San Francisco. Bloom is past chair of the Section’s Science and Technology Committee.

Michelle Diffenderfer has been selected to serve as a member of the Southeast Florida Coral Reef Initiative (SEFCRI) for a two-year term. SEFCRI was formed in May 2003 to develop local action strategies targeting coral reefs and associated reef resources in Miami-Dade, Broward, Palm Beach, and Martin counties to improve the coordination of technical and financial support for the conservation and management of coral reefs. Diffenderfer is a partner at Lewis, Longman & Walker, P.A. in West Palm Beach, Florida. She is chair of the Section’s Special Committee on Communications and External Relations and a former chair of the Education Service Group and member of Council.

Jim Arnold


Jim Arnold is the principal in The Arnold Law Practice in San Francisco and is a contributing editor to Trends. Information about Section members’ moves and activities can be sent to his attention.