Section of Environment, Energy, and Resources

Stewardship Award

To submit a nomination, use this form. The official rules for this award are posted here.

This award recognizes and honors the accomplishments of a person, organization, or group that has distinguished itself in environmental, energy, and resources stewardship. 

How do I nominate someone for this award?

Nominations can be submitted using the form linked above. Nominations will be accepted until May 31, 2021.

Who is eligible for this award?

While nominees are likely to be a lawyer and/or law related organizations, this is not a requirement for nomination. Nominees may be lawyers, industry managers, public officials, non-government organization members, policy analysts, educators, or any other person who has demonstrated significant achievement or leadership or organizations that have demonstrated similar significant achievement or leadership. Persons and organizations active in sustainable development, environmental, energy, and resources stewardship, and environmental, energy, and resources law in the United States and abroad may submit nominations. Self-nominations will not be accepted. Current Section Council members and officers and ABA staff are not eligible for the award.

What is the award process?

Nominations will be made through an online survey system. You will provide brief information about your nominee. The Section's awards committee will review your nomination and let you know if they need additinal information. Once the nomination period closes, the Awards Committee will review all nominations and make a recommendation to the Section's Council for its final approval. You will be notified either way if your nominee was selected.

When are the awards bestowed?

This award is bestowed during the Section's annual Fall Conference.

Past recipients of this award

2020: Savonala "Savi" Horne, Executive Director, Land Loss Prevention Project

2019: Zygmunt Plater, Professor of Law, Boston College Law School

2018: Riverkeeper, Ossining, New York

2017: The award was not bestowed in 2017

Organization: Scenic Hudson, Poughkeepsie, NY

Individual: Robert D. Bullard, Ph.D., Texas Southern University, Houston, TX
Organization: Great Basin Unified Air Pollution Control District, Bishop, CA

Individual: Richard L. Erdmann, The Conservation Fund, Arlington, VA
Organization: Freshwater Land Trust of Alabama, Birmingham, AL

Individual: Dr. Daniel Walsh, Founding Director, New York City Office of Environmental Remediation (NYCOER)

Individual: Mindy S. Lubber, President, Ceres

Individuals: James M. Redwine, Motors Liquidation Company and David R. Berz, Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

Individual: Frederick R. Anderson, McKenna Long & Aldridge LLP, Washington, D.C., Former Executive Director and President, Environmental Law Institute

Individuals: Luke W. Cole, Co-founder, Center on Race, Poverty & the Environment (CRPE) and Richard B. Stewart, University Professor, John E. Sexton Professor of Law, and Director of the Center on Environmental and Land Use Law, New York University

Individuals: Richard Roos-Collins, Director of Legal Services, Natural Heritage Institute, San Francisco, CA and Stephen D. Ramsey, Vice President, Corporate Environmental Programs, General Electric Co. (GE), Fairfield, CT

Organization: Legacy, Inc.

Individual: Charles H. Chisolm, Executive Director, Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality (MDEQ), Jackson, MS

Individual: Douglas I. Foy, Secretary of Commonwealth Development, Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Individual: John A. Delaney, Former Mayor, Jacksonville, FL

Individual: C. Thomas Wyche, Greenville, SC