Section of Environment, Energy, and Resources

Lifetime Achievement Award

To submit a nomination, use this form. The official rules for this award are posted here.

The ABA Lifetime Achievement Award in Environmental, Energy, or Resources Law and Policy recognizes and celebrates the accomplishments of major practitioners in environmental, energy, or resources law and policy in the United States. 

How do I nominate someone for this award?

Nominations can be submitted using the form linked above. Nominations will be accepted until May 31, 2021.

Who is eligible for this award?

Nominees must have demonstrated a lifetime career commitment to and leadership in environmental, energy, or resources law and policy in the United States. The award recognizes an outstanding individual who has dedicated a lifetime to achievement in environmental, energy, or resources law and policy before courts, agencies, U.S. Congress, state legislatures, or other institutions. Eligible individuals must be attorneys, but should no longer be actively engaged in the practice of law. Nominees may have been practitioners in the private, public, or corporate sectors; judges, public officials; or law professors.

What is the award process?

Nominations will be made through an online survey system. You will provide brief information about your nominee. The Section's awards committee will review your nomination and let you know if they need additinal information. Once the nomination period closes, the Awards Committee will review all nominations and make a recommendation to the Section's Council for its final approval. You will be notified either way if your nominee was selected.

When are the awards bestowed?

This award is bestowed during the Section's annual Fall Conference.

Past recipients of this award

2020: John C. Cruden, Principal, Beveridge & Diamond PC

2019: Oliver A. Houck, Professor of Law, Tulane University

2018: Lois J. Schiffer, Former General Counsel at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration