Distinguished Environmental Advocates Award

Distinguished Environmental Advocates Award

The Section honored twelve lawyers with its Distinguished Environmental Advocates Award during the 42nd Spring Conference in Salt Lake City on March 22, 2013.

1.     Brian Accardo, Florida Department of Environmental Protection, Tallahassee, FL (University of Miami School of Law)

2.     Rita Bolt Barker, Wyche, P.A., Greenville, SC (Harvard Law School)

3.     Marisa Blackshire, Alston & Bird LLP, Los Angeles, CA (Southwestern University Law)

4.     Janice Dean, New York State Attorney General, Environmental Protection Bureau, Brooklyn, NY (Pace University School of Law)

5.     Hella Jordan Diamond, Environmental Law Institute, Washington, DC (University of California Berkeley School of Law)

6.     Reda Hicks, Diamond McCarthy LLP,  Houston, TX (University of California Berkeley School of Law)

7.     David Johnson, Arizona Department of Water Resources, Phoenix, AZ (Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law, LLM Pace University School of Law)

8.     Melissa Meirink, Greenberg Traurig, LLP, Denver, CO (Seattle University School of Law)

9.     Tina Meyers, Blue Water Baltimore.org, Baltimore, MD (SUNY Buffalo Law School)

10.  Jessica O’Neill, Hangley Aronchick Segal Pudlin & Schiller, Philadelphia, PA (Georgetown Law)

11.  Jessica Scott, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of General Counsel, Washington, DC (Vermont Law School)

12.  Jennifer Sorenson, Natural Resources Defense Council, San Francisco, CA (Yale Law School)

View the biographies of our "Rising Stars"here.

The award recognizes lawyers under the age of 36 or in practice fewer than 5 years whose accomplishments and contributions to the development of law, policy, and programs in the areas of energy and the environment are above and beyond those of their peers.   These recipients hold a Juris Doctorate, are leaders whose contributions to NGOs, communities, neighborhoods, the government, academia, and the practice of law are significant and belie their years and experience.

”There are many programs to recognize legal achievement later in an attorney’s career,” said Alexandra Dapolito Dunn, chair of the ABA SEER.  “We crafted this program to emphasize the importance of recognizing individuals in our field of practice who are standing out early on by virtue of their ideas, commitment, and professionalism.”