chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

How do I nominate someone for this award?

Please visit to submit a nomination. Nominations are due by May 31.

Who is eligible for this award?

Eligible individuals who may be nominated include academics, policymakers, legislators, practitioners, members of the judiciary or journalists within the United States. Nominated practitioners must also be in good standing with the attorney licensing authority in the jurisdiction in which they practice.

Eligible organizations include law-related entities or organizations such as non-profits, bar associations, law school clinical programs, legal services programs, tribal nations, law firms, private, public, or corporate entities within the United States.

Individuals who have been Section Council members, officers, or ABA staff within two years of the year of nomination and their immediate families and household members, are not eligible to receive the Award. Self-nominations are not accepted. Individuals must be at least 18 years old at the time of nomination.

What is the award process?

Nominations will be made through an online survey system. You will provide brief information about your nominee. The Section's awards committee will review your nomination and let you know if they need additinal information. Once the nomination period closes, the Awards Committee will review all nominations and make a recommendation to the Section's Council for its final approval. You will be notified either way if your nominee was selected.

When are the awards bestowed?

This award is bestowed in the fall each year.


Environmental Law & Policy Center




Wallace Stegner Center for Land, Resources and the Environment at the University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law


Savonala "Savi" Horne, Executive Director, Land Loss Prevention Project


Zygmunt Plater, Professor of Law, Boston College Law School


Riverkeeper, Ossining, New York


The award was not bestowed in 2017


Organization: Scenic Hudson, Poughkeepsie, NY


Individual: Robert D. Bullard, Ph.D., Texas Southern University, Houston, TX

Organization: Great Basin Unified Air Pollution Control District, Bishop, CA


Individual: Richard L. Erdmann, The Conservation Fund, Arlington, VA

Organization: Freshwater Land Trust of Alabama, Birmingham, AL


Individual: Dr. Daniel Walsh, Founding Director, New York City Office of Environmental Remediation (NYCOER)


Individual: Mindy S. Lubber, President, Ceres


Individual: James M. Redwine, Motors Liquidation Company

IndividualDavid R. Berz, Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP


Individual: Frederick R. Anderson, McKenna Long & Aldridge LLP, Washington, D.C., Former Executive Director and President, Environmental Law Institute


Individual: Luke W. Cole, Co-founder, Center on Race, Poverty & the Environment (CRPE)

IndividualRichard B. Stewart, University Professor, John E. Sexton Professor of Law, and Director of the Center on Environmental and Land Use Law, New York University


Individual: Richard Roos-Collins, Director of Legal Services, Natural Heritage Institute, San Francisco, CA

IndividualStephen D. Ramsey, Vice President, Corporate Environmental Programs, General Electric Co. (GE), Fairfield, CT


Organization: Legacy, Inc.


Individual: Charles H. Chisolm, Executive Director, Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality (MDEQ), Jackson, MS


Individual: Douglas I. Foy, Secretary of Commonwealth Development, Commonwealth of Massachusetts


Individual: John A. Delaney, Former Mayor, Jacksonville, FL


Individual: C. Thomas Wyche, Greenville, SC