chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

How do I nominate someone for this award?

Please visit to submit a nomination. Nominations are due by May 31.

Who is eligible for this award?

Eligible individuals must be attorneys who formerly practiced law and who have demonstrated a lifetime of achievement or leadership in developing environmental, energy or resources law and policy in the United States.

Eligible individuals may be former practitioners in the private, public or corporate sectors, judges, public officials, or law professors. The nominee should not be actively engaged in practice but must be living at the time of nomination.

Individuals who have been Section Council members, officers, or ABA staff within two years of the year of nomination and their immediate families and household members, are not eligible to receive the Award. Self-nominations are not accepted. Individuals must be at least 18 years old at the time of nomination.

What is the award process?

Nominations will be made through an online survey system. You will provide brief information about your nominee. The Section's awards committee will review your nomination and let you know if they need additinal information. Once the nomination period closes, the Awards Committee will review all nominations and make a recommendation to the Section's Council for its final approval. You will be notified either way if your nominee was selected.

When are the awards bestowed?

This award is bestowed in the fall each year.

Past Recipients


Hope Babcock, Professor Emerita, Georgetown Law
Sheila Slocum Hollis, Chair, Washington Office and Of Counsel, Duane Morris LLP


Patrick A. Parenteau, Emeritus Professor of Law and Senior Fellow for Climate Policy in the Environmental Law Center, Vermont Law School


Jeffrey G. Miller, Professor of Law Emeritus, Elisabeth Haub School of Law at Pace University


John C. Cruden, Principal, Beveridge & Diamond PC


Oliver A. Houck, Professor of Law, Tulane University


Lois J. Schiffer, Former General Counsel at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration