chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

Sharon L. Corbitt Award

The ABA Commission on Domestic & Sexual Violence created the Sharon Corbitt Award in 2008 to recognize exceptional service and leadership to improving the legal response to domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault and/or stalking by a lawyer from any area of practice, including non-profit, private firm, government, corporate counsel, and the judiciary, in the spirit of Sharon L. Corbitt.

Sharon Corbitt. was an active member of the American Bar Association for 25 years, serving as a member of the Commission on Domestic & Sexual Violence from 2002­ to 2005 after completing her term as Chair of the Family Law Section.  In honor of her exemplary professional and personal contributions to victims of domestic violence throughout her career, this award will recognize an attorney each year who embodies her spirit and dedication.



2023 - Beth S. Posner, Clinical Professor, University of North Carolina School of Law

2022 - Riddhi Mukhopadhyay, Director, Sexual Violence Law Center

2021 - Sandra Park, Senior Staff Attorney, ACLU Women’s Rights Project

2020 - Dorchen Leidholdt, , Director, Center for Battered Women's Legal Services, Sanctuary for Families

2019 - Jessica Mindlin, National Director for Training and Technical Assistance, Victim Rights Law Center

2018 - Alicia Aiken, Director, Confidentiality Institute

2017 - Carol Robles-Román, Chief Executive Officer, Legal Momentum

2016 - Paula Henderson Broome, Special Assistant Attorney General, Deputy Chief, Bureau of Victim Assistance Mississippi Attorney General’s Office

2015 - Wanda Lucibello, Chief of the Special Victims Division, Brooklyn District Attorney's Office

2014 - Lynn Hecht Schafran, Senior Vice President, Legal Momentum & Director of the National Judicial Education Project

2013 - Nancy Lemon, Boalt School of Law Professor & co-founder of Family Violence Appellate Project

2012 - Loretta Frederick, Senior Legal & Policy Advisor, Battered Women’s Justice Project

2011 - Roberta Valente, Consultant, National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges

2010 - Kathleen Schoen, Director, Local Bar Relations and Access to Justice, Colorado Bar Association

2009 - Joan Meier, GWU School of Law Professor & founder of DV LEAP Appeals Project