2020 Corbitt & Kaye Awards Presentation

Watch our annual 2020 Corbitt and Kaye Awards Presentation virtually this year and celebrate with this year's winners!

Click Here to - View in Bigger Screen

Sharon L. Corbitt Award

The ABA Commission on Domestic & Sexual Violence created the Sharon Corbitt Award in 2008 to recognize exceptional service and leadership to improving the legal response to domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault and/or stalking by a lawyer from any area of practice, including non-profit, private firm, government, corporate counsel, and the judiciary, in the spirit of Sharon L. Corbitt.

Nominate Someone for 2021 Award - HERE

2020 Sharon L. Corbitt Award

Dorchen Leidholdt

Dorchen Leidholdt is this year's Sharon L. Corbitt Award winner. Since 1994 Dorchen A. Leidholdt has served as the Director of the Center for Battered Women’s Legal Services at Sanctuary for Families in New York City. The largest dedicated legal services program for gender violence survivors in the country. Ms. Leidholdt serves as Co-Chair of the New York State Anti-Trafficking Coalition and is a board member of the Coalition Against Trafficking in Women, which she helped found in 1988. She has been an activist in the feminist movement for more than four decades on a wide range of issues, ranging from reproductive rights to forced and child marriage, cyber sexual abuse, commercial sexual exploitation, and female genital mutilation.

Learn - More

The Judith Kaye Award

The ABA Commission on Domestic & Sexual Violence created the Judith S. Kaye Award for Judicial Excellence in 2016 to recognize service by judicial officers who demonstrate knowledge of domestic and sexual violence and exemplary leadership developing courtroom responses to these issues. In honor of Judge Kaye's exemplary professional and personal contributions to the field of domestic and sexual violence law throughout her career, this award will recognize a judge each year that embodies her spirit and dedication.

Nominate Someone for 2021 Award - Here

2020 Judith Kaye Award

Hon. Susan B. Carbon

Judge Susan B. Carbon is this year's Judith Kaye Award winner. Susan B. Carbon is the Presiding Judge of the 9th Circuit Court -- Family Division in Manchester, NH. Originally appointed in 1990 to the New Hampshire District Court, she served until 2010 when she was appointed by President Barack Obama to be Director of the Office on Violence Against Women (OVW) at the United States Department of Justice. Upon return to New Hampshire, she was reappointed to the New Hampshire Circuit Court. Judge Carbon has served on many domestic violence and child protection initiatives at the state and national level. Judge Carbon has also served on many projects of the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges (NCJFCJ), including as Chair of the project which led to the publication of Civil Protection Orders: Effective Issuance and Enforcement (also known as The Burgundy Book) which has enjoyed national and international acclaim.

Learn - More