chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

Write & Tell Live: Chanel Miller

April 16, 2024 | 5:30 p.m. ET (2:30 p.m. PT)

Join us for Write & Tell Live: Chanel Miller on April 16, 2024, at 2:30 PT/5:30 ET to commemorate Sexual Assault Awareness Month. Our Write & Tell Live series is focused on the narrative/storytelling components of lawyering for survivors and invites speakers who can educate our audience about the power of storytelling.

Chanel Miller will engage in discussion on the power of telling survivor stories; how legal system actors should (and shouldn't) tell survivor stories; and how the legal system empowers and/or disempowers survivors. If you read Chanel Miller's powerful book Know My Name you learned how multiple legal system actors and adjacent professionals failed to consider her humanity during their interactions and created more harm - we all have much to learn together - and hope that you will join us for this important conversation.

The Commission's 2023 Sharon L. Corbitt Award winner Professor Beth Posner will moderate.

Register Here

  • Please note: This is a live event only and there will not be a recording available.
  • Space is limited.
  • No MCLE credits will be provided.
  • There is no fee to attend this program.

Cosponsored by the ABA Commission on Homelessness & Poverty, Commission on Immigration, Criminal Justice Section, Family Law Section, Judicial Division, Section on Civil Rights & Social Justice, Standing Committee on Legal Aid and Defense, Standing Committee on Pro Bono and Public Service, Commission on Women in Profession, and Young Lawyers Division