chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
May 01, 2024 Feature

Announcing the 2024 Margaret Brent Women Lawyers of Achievement

The Commission on Women in the Profession is proud to announce the 2024 Margaret Brent Women Lawyers of Achievement. The award was established in 1991 to recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of women lawyers. Each year, the Commission honors up to five outstanding women lawyers who have achieved professional excellence within their area of specialty and have actively paved the way to success for other women lawyers. These women demonstrate excellence in a variety of professional settings and personify excellence on either the national, regional, or local level.


The Commission is proud to honor:


  • Dolores Atencio—visiting scholar, University of Denver Latinx Center, Sturm College of Law, Denver, CO
  • Pamila J. Brown—associate judge, Howard County District Court, Ellicott City, MD
  • Estelle H. Rogers—retired public interest lawyer, Forestville, CA
  • Gina Shishima, Ph.D.—chief strategy and operations partner, Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP, Austin, TX
  • Barbara Wall—current board member and former chief legal and operating officer of Gannett Co., Inc., Washington, DC


More information about the upcoming ceremony, which is scheduled to be held on August 4 at 3:00 p.m., followed by a reception, as part of the 2024 ABA Annual Meeting in Chicago, can be found at

The material in all ABA publications is copyrighted and may be reprinted by permission only. Request reprint permission here.