Alexander Award

Raymond Pace and Sadie Tanner Mossell Alexander

Raymond Pace and Sadie Tanner Mossell Alexander

Alexander Award History and Application Process

The Council for Diversity in the Educational Pipeline accepts nominations every Fall for the Raymond Pace and Sadie Tanner Mossell Alexander Award for Excellence in Pipeline Diversity. The Award will be presented in February 2021 during the ABA Midyear Meeting. 

Purpose of the Award

To increase diversity in the legal profession demands work to expand opportunities for and success of underrepresented students  including ethnic minorites, students with disabilities, and students who identify with LGBTQ,  all along the educational pipeline through law school and into the profession. The Alexander Award was created to honor an individual or organization that has demonstrated exemplary leadership and success in educational pipeline work.

The award is named after the life and legacy of two legal trailblazers – Raymond Pace Alexander and Sadie Tanner Mossell Alexander. Raymond was the first African American to graduate of the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania and become a judge on the Common Pleas Court of Philadelphia. In the early 1930s, Raymond took two Chester County school districts to court that ended de jure segregation in Pennsylvania schools. Sadie Tanner Mossell Alexander, Raymond’s wife, was the first African American women to receive a Ph.D. in the United States and the first woman to receive a law degree from the University of Pennsylvania Law School.


The organization or individual nominated has led or created a successful program to advance opportunities for underrepresented students throughout the educational pipeline and into the legal profession.

Nomination Application Information and Requirements

The Council for Diversity in the Educational Pipeline is now accepting nominations for the 2021 Alexander Award. To submit a nomination, please complete the nomination form, and the below-mentioned information, to  The deadline to submit nominations is December 1, 2020. Please direct any specific questions to Selina Thomas at

Application requirements include:

  • Completed nomination form
  • Narrative description that contains:
    •   Details about the nominees's pipeline prorgram, including pipeline segments represented, program longevity, outcomes and measures, and number of students served.
    • Details on how the pipeline program has significantly changed the landscape of pipeline diversity and assisted others in similar efforts.
  • Two (2) letters in support of the nominee
Angela Cox accepts the 2020 Alexander Award on behalf of Council on Legal Education Opportunity (CLEO), Inc.

Angela Cox accepts the 2020 Alexander Award on behalf of Council on Legal Education Opportunity (CLEO), Inc.

Past Recipients

2020 - Council on Legal and Educational Opportunities, Inc. (CLEO, Inc.)
2019 - University of Houston Law Center Pre-Law Pipeline Program
2018 - Hon. Ann Claire Williams, Senior United States Circuit Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
2017 – William G. Paul, past President American Bar Association (lifetime achievement award)
2016 - UC Davis King Hall Outreach Program(ABA News Video)
2015 - California Partnership Law Academies(ABA News Video)
2014 - NJ Leep (ABA News Video)
2013 - UCLA Law Fellows Program (View ABA News Video)
2012 - The Pre-Law Summer Institute for American Indians and Alaskan Natives (View ABA News Video)
2011 – The Ronald H. Brown Center for Civil Rights and Economic Development Prep Program
2010 – Legal Outreach
2009 – The Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association