September 12, 2019

Section News

Welcome, new Section Chair Joan Stearns Johnsen

At the ABA Dispute Resolution Section’s membership meeting on August 10, 2019. Joan Stearns Johnsen officially took the gavel as Chair for the 2019 to 2020 bar year from past Chair Harrie Samaras. Joan, who has been an active Section member and leader for many years, has led the teleconference and webinar CLE programs and served on the executive committee as the CLE Officer.

Joan teaches negotiation, arbitration, and international arbitration at the University of Florida Levin College of Law, where she also coaches the Willem C. Vis International Arbitration Team. Joan is an active arbitrator and mediator on the panels of the American Arbitration Association, CPR, FINRA, and the American Health Lawyers Association. Joan previously was the associate general counsel at the Commodity Exchange, Inc., New York, assistant commodities counsel at Smith Barney, Harris Upham & Co., Inc., and an enforcement attorney with the Commodity Futures Trading Commission in Washington, DC.

Section Council Members and Officers Elected

At the Annual Meeting in San Francisco, Section members elected five Section Council members and new officers for the 2019-2020 bar year. The membership elected five at-large Council positions: Kristen Blankley, Richard Lord, Miréze Phillipe, Jaya Sharma, and Rebecca Storrow. Three executive committee (officer) positions were also elected: Myra Selby as Chair-elect, David Larson as Vice-chair, and Brian Pappas as Budget Officer.

Sander Innovation Award Presented

The American Bar Association's Section of Dispute Resolution and Center on Innovation, which aims to create more accessible, efficient, and effective legal services in the United States and around the globe, have announced that the first annual Frank E.A. Sander Innovation in ADR Award was awarded to Edith Primm of the Justice Center of Atlanta and Colin Rule of Tyler Technologies at the National Conference of Bar Presidents annual luncheon on August 9, 2019.

Task Force on Conflict Prevention Techniques Formed

The Section is pleased to announce that a new Task Force on Conflict Prevention Techniques has been formed by Joan Stearns Johnsen, the Section’s incoming Chair. The task-force, whose mission is to explore innovative ways to utilize conflict resolution skills, will explore deal facilitation as well as the use of standing neutrals as ways to avoid conflict in a commercial context. The task force members are: Richard Hall (Partner, Cravath, Swaine & Moore); Noah Hanft (Mediator/Arbitrator, AcumenADR); Danny McFadden (CEDR Asia Pacific ambassador); Scott S. Partridge (General Counsel and Senior Vice President, Bayer US); Ellen Parker (Principal, Associate General Counsel, KPMG LLP); and James Pike (Vice President, Law (Dispute Resolution, Fluor). 

Nominations Sought for Section Awards

The Section is now accepting nominations for the D’Alemberte-Raven Award, the Award for Outstanding Scholarly Work, and the John W. Cooley Lawyer as Problem Solver Award. The deadline for nominations is September 30. For more information on each award, see the awards page.

Download the PDF

Dispute Resolution Magazine Digital Extras

  1. Further readings on How We Got Here:
    Recent Application of BG Group by Lionel M. Schooler
  2. Video examples for Beyond Abstinence