Fellowship Program

The American Bar Association (ABA) Dispute Resolution (DR) Section’s new Fellowship program is accepting applications for its first cohort of Fellows. The program provides Fellows with opportunities to gain experience with the Section, and is aimed at grooming the next generation of leadership, while at the same time helping the Fellows to advance their careers and grow their personal network within the field of Dispute Resolution.

The Fellowship program is initially a one-year commitment, with an option to continue for a second year of “Advanced” Fellowship. Fellows will have their registration fees waived for all DR Section events and activities, including the Spring Conference. They will have preferential access to DR Section publications and will also receive mentorship and access to the leadership of various Committees of the Section. The first year of Fellowship will involve activities including writing blogs and newsletters, organizing committee events, and research. During the optional second year, Fellows will have the opportunity to select a project that is aligned to their specific area of interest in Dispute Resolution and present it in a manner that will highlight their individual contribution to the advancement of the DR Section. These projects may run the gamut from writing an article for a Section publication, to organising an event or new training program.

For the year 2020-2021, Fellowships are available with the following Committees:

  • ADR Practice
  • Arbitration
  • Diversity
  • International
  • Mediation
  • Ombuds

Candidates with at least three (3) years of dispute resolution related experience, as well as more experienced practitioners looking to transition to a career in Dispute Resolution are welcome to apply. We are looking for candidates with a demonstrable interest in Dispute Resolution, and a commitment to taking increasing roles and responsibilities within the Section. Shortlisted candidates may be contacted for an interview. 

Please submit completed applications accompanied by a CV via email to: Linda Warren Seely at Linda.Seely@americanbar.org.

Applications should be submitted no later than August 16, 2020 at 11:59 PM.

Submit Application

Work Available for Fellows

Fellows will have the opportunity to support the Committee's work developing and disseminating tools to help the Section membership expand their practices to become inclusive of diverse perspectives.  An example of such a resource is our "Integrating Diverse Perspectives In Our Practices" webinar and tipsheet to help all practitioners be sensitive and accessible based on gender, cultural, and disability dimensions.  Through their work disseminating these resources, Fellows will gain an opportunity to network with the Dispute Resolution community, and make an impact on these professionals' awareness of diverse perspectives.  Through their assistance developing resources, Fellows will gain experience operationalizing core Dispute Resolution values of impartiality, self-determination, empowerment, and equity.  This Committee provides an opportunity to tangibly put these core values into practice.

What We Look For in Fellows

We seek people who are excited to make a difference in the Dispute Resolution Section and Community in the areas of diversity, inclusivity, and equity.  We also welcome people committed to adapting core dispute resolution values to empower diverse stakeholders.  Interest in connecting with others in the field to help spread our initiatives and in making a difference are a plus.

Brief summary of potential projects

  • Assist the Committee to organize Ombuds Day 2020
  • Assist the Legislative Subcommittee to track and review state legislation related to Ombuds/Ombudsmen.
  • Lead a task force to draft Standards of Ethical Conduct for Ombuds related to topics such as sexual harassment/sexual misconduct