January 17, 2018

Lawyer as Problem Solver Award

John W. Cooley Lawyer as Problem Solver Award

The John W. Cooley Lawyer as Problem Solver Award recognizes individuals and organizations that use their problem-solving skills to forge creative solutions. The award is given to an individual member of the legal profession and/or institution who has exhibited extraordinary skill in either promoting the concept of the lawyer as problem-solver or resolving individual, institutional, community, state, national, or international problems. Award recipients will be acknowledged for their use or promotion of collaboration, negotiation, mediation, counseling, decision-making, and problem-solving skills to help parties resolve a problem in a creative and novel way.

The lawyer as problem solver, in both orientation and skills, demonstrates:

  • the ability to analyze situations or to consider expert analysis from a multi disciplinary perspective, taking into account the broad array of client or party interests and the multitude of factors and circumstances that impact the "problem" presented;
  • the ability to translate positions into interests;
  • the ability to generate and assess--and to help the client or parties involved generate and assess-- both conventional and novel options to address the problem; and
  • the ability to build consensus around an option which best addresses the goals and interests of a client or the involved participants.

Submit a nomination for the Lawyer as Problem Solver Award.

Divided Community Project at Moritz College of Law to Receive Lawyer as Problem Solver Award

The ABA’s Section of Dispute Resolution has named the Divided Community Project (DCP) at the Ohio State University Moritz College of Law the recipient of the 2018 institutional Lawyer as Problem Solver Award, which will be presented at the Section’s Spring Conference in Washington, DC.

Individual Award: Pauline Tesler
Individual Award: Stuart Webb
Institution Award: Passaic County Legal Aid Society

Individual Award: Charles Asher
Institution Award: United States Air Force


Individual Award: Forrest S. Mosten
Institution Award: The Dispute Resolution Center of Harris County, Texas


Individual Award: Carl Poirot
Institution Award: San Diego Volunteer Lawyer Program


Individual Award: David W. Plant
Institution Award: The Red Hook Community Justice Center


Individual Award: David Sandborg
Institution Award: The Innocence Project

Individual Award: Tina Rasnow
Institution Award: Brooklyn, New York, District Attorney’s Office

Individual Award: Basil Paterson
Institution Award: Boston Law Collaborative


Individual Award: Bennet Picker
Individual Award: Andrew Schepard
Institution Award: Mediate.com

College of Commercial Arbitrators

Kenneth R. Feinberg
Harry Tindall

U.S. Department of Justice, Community Relations Service

Individual Award: Ron Ousky
Institution Award: Resource Center for Separating and Divorcing Families (RCSDF)

Individual Award: Judith Kaye
Institution Award: The Justice Center of Atlanta

Individual Award: Lainey Feingold