June 11, 2020

D'Alemberte Raven Award

Nominations are due September 30th

The D’Alemberte/Raven Award honors Talbot D’Alemberte and Robert D. Raven, who each held the unique position of being both ABA Presidents and Chairs of either the ABA Section of Dispute Resolution or its predecessor ABA Special Committee. Both guided the ABA to become a leader in the dispute resolution arena: Mr. D’Alemberte as the first Chair (1976-79) of the then ABA Special Committee on Resolution of Minor Disputes, and Mr. Raven as the first Chair (1993-94) of the ABA Section of Dispute Resolution.


Eligibility and Criteria

Either an individual or an organization that has contributed significantly to the dispute resolution field is eligible for this Award if they meet the criteria set forth below. 

The nominees for this Award shall have shown leadership in the field of dispute resolution for at least three years.

The nominees shall be judged among the following criteria as they relate to dispute resolution:

  • development of new or innovative programs;
  • demonstrated improvements in service;
  • demonstrated improvements in efficiency;
  • research and/or published writings; and/or
  • development of continuing education programs.

Within two years preceding the date of his/ her nomination, the nominee shall not have served as a member of the D’Alemberte/Raven Award Selection Committee or held an elective office in the ABA Section of Dispute Resolution. 

Submit a Nomination for the D'Alemberte Raven Award.

Homer C. La Rue
 to Receive the 2020 D’Alemberte-Raven Award

The 2020 D’Alemberte-Raven honors Professor Homer C. La Rue for his ongoing commitment to diversity in the field of dispute resolution, his contributions to the study and teaching of dispute resolution, excellence as a practitioner of mediation and arbitration, and his leadership in many dispute resolution organizations, including the American Bar Association Section of Dispute Resolution. 

1995    Roger Fisher

1997    Attorney General Janet Reno

1999    Frank Sander

2000    Judge Dorothy Nelson

2001    James Henry

2002    Nancy Rogers

2003    Judge Robert M. Bell

2004    Ambassador Richard Holbrooke

2005    Gerald Aksen

2007    Charles B. Renfrew

2008    Thomas J. Stipanowich

2009    Magistrate Judge Wayne Brazil

2010    Judge Warren Knight

2011    John Feerick

2012    Linda Singer and Michael Lewis

2013    Senator George J. Mitchell

2014    Governor Bill Richardson

2015    David Hoffman

2016    Laura Chasin

2017    Ethan Katsh

2018     Thomas Friedman

2020    Homer C. La Rue