Standing Committee on the Delivery of Legal Services

Louis M. Brown Award for Legal Access

The LOUIS M. BROWN AWARD FOR LEGAL ACCESS is presented annually to programs and projects that advance access to legal services for those of moderate incomes in ways that are exemplary and replicable. All nominees of the Brown Award are also entered into the running for BROWN SELECT, which is presented to the Brown Award nominee that gets the most votes from the general public through online voting.

Award Resources

The WINNER of the 2018 Louis M. Brown Award is the

Chicago Bar Foundation

The Committee is also recognizing two nominees with Meritorious Recognition, the British Columbia Civil Resolution Tribunal and Chi City Legal


Award Booklet and Press Releases

View the 2018 ABA Press Release.

View the 2018 Profiles of Moderate Income Delivery Programs booklet.