chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
Task Force


View the Task Force roster and Mission Statement, and learn how to contact the Task Force.

The Cybersecurity Legal Task Force is proud to have members from 29 different ABA sections, esteemed members-at-large, and liaisons from the public and private sectors.



Adriana Luedke
Co-Chair, ABA Cybersecurity Legal Task Force

Roland Trope
Co-Chair, ABA Cybersecurity Legal Task Force


Jin-Ho King, Judicial Division

Rick Martinez, Member at Large

Lakshmi Gopal, Section on Civil Rights and Social Justice

Erin Illman, Business Law Section

Charles Merriweather, Standing Committee on Disaster Response and Preparedness

Kari Petrasek, Standing Committee on Technology and Information Systems

Mark Strain, Infrastructure and Regulated Industries Section

Kristin Grimes,  Section of Public Contract Law

Stanton Weinstein, Section of Intellectual Property Law

John M. Barkett, Section of Litigation

Deon Woods Bell, Member at Large

Danielle Roth, Standing Committee on Lawyers' Professional Liability

John Gullace, Section of Environment, Energy and Resources

James O'Reilly, Section of Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice

Paul Rosenzweig, Standing Committee on Law and National Security

Hon. Daniel Traynor, Solo, Small Firm, and General Practice Division

Dan Siegel, Law Practice Division

Ty Kayam, Health Law Section

Linda Priebe, Section of International Law

Larry Schiffer, Tort Trial and Insurance Practice Section

Donata Stroink-Skillrud, Science & Technology Law Section

Paula Martucci, Antitrust Law Section

Jason Gonzalez, Criminal Justice Section

Jayne Reardon, Center for Professional Responsibility

Lai Sun Yee, Section of State and Local Government Law

Elizabeth DonkervoortRule of Law Initiative

Jeff AllenSenior Lawyers Division

Jennifer Dukarski, Forum on Communications Law

Daniel Cotter, Member at Large

Special Advisors

Judith Miller, Special Advisor

Harvey Rishikof, Special Advisor

Ruth Hill Bro, Special Advisor

Lucy Thomson, Special Advisor

Andrew Grosso, Special Advisor

Garylene Javier, Special Advisor

Thiago Luis Sombra, Special Advisor


Charlyn Stanberry, Young Lawyers Division

Mercedes Subhani, Law Student Division

Lucian Pera, ABA Board of Governors

Hon. John Allen, Cook County, Illinois

Cynthia Cwik, Senior Legal Advisor

Eric Hibbard, Samsung Semiconductor Inc.

Sandra Hodgkinson, DRS Technologies

James Andrew Lewis, Center for Strategic & International Studies

Robert Litt, Morrison & Foerster LLP

Karen Painter Randall, Connell Foley LLP

Jill Rhodes, Option Care Health

Thomas J. Smedinghoff, Locke Lord LLP

Suzanne Spaulding, Center for Strategic & International Studies

David Turetsky, University of Albany

Alice Richmond, Richmond & Associates

Chairs Emeriti

Maureen Kelly, Northrop Grumman (retired)

Claudia Rast, Butzel Long

Mission Statement

The Cybersecurity Legal Task Force shall consist of two co-chairs, one representative from each ABA entity with an interest in cybersecurity issues, three members at large, and three special advisors.  It may include non-lawyer experts. The Task Force shall have jurisdiction over matters affecting how lawyers protect their practices and their clients’ confidential information and intellectual property during a cyberattack. In carrying out its responsibilities, the Task Force shall:

1)       facilitate collaboration and information exchanges among constituent ABA entities and with relevant public agencies and private organizations;

2)       serve as a clearinghouse among ABA entities regarding cybersecurity activities, policy proposals, advocacy, publications and resources;

3)       study and analyze executive and legislative branch cybersecurity proposals;

4)       identify cyber-related issues for appropriate action by the ABA, including filling gaps in policy, encouraging ABA entities to develop new policy as appropriate, and sharing best practices with members and their law firms;

5)       advise and assist the ABA Governmental Affairs Office on cybersecurity advocacy and responses to government action;

6)       educate members of the bar and the public on cybersecurity risks, how to protect data, and how to respond to a cyberattack. 

Message from Past ABA President Laurel Bellows

"We live In a world where our national security is threatened by cyberterrorists, and where private enterprise is forced to respond to cybertheft of intellectual property on a daily basis. The ABA Cybersecurity Legal Task Force is examining risks posed by criminals, terrorists and nations that seek to steal personal and financial information, disrupt critical infrastructure, and wage cyberwar.  When our national security and economy are threatened, lawyers will not stand on the sidelines."

Contact Us

Holly McMahon (Director)
(202) 662-1035
[email protected]

Logan Hamilton (Staff Attorney)
(202) 662-8609
[email protected]