chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
April 08, 2021


Missouri Assessment on the Death Penalty

Missouri Assessment Team on the Death Penalty

The assessment is conducted by a state-based team responsible for collecting and analyzing various laws, rules, procedures, standards, and guidelines relating to the administration of capital punishment in Missouri. It is the Missouri Assessment Team’s responsibility to determine whether the state is in compliance with the ABA Protocols and make any other additional recommendations it feels are needed to improve the fairness and accuracy of Missouri ’s death penalty system. The Missouri Assessment Team is comprised of the following individuals (bios forthcoming):

  • Professor Stephen C. Thaman, Co-Chair
    St. Louis University
    School of Law
    St. Louis, MO
  • Professor Paul Litton, Co-Chair
    University of Missouri - Columbia
    School of Law
    Columbia, MO
  • Douglas A. Copeland
    Copeland Thompson Farris PC
    St. Louis, MO
  • Dee Joyce-Hayes
    Bi-State Development Agency "Metro"
    Former Circuit Attorney, St. Louis City
    St. Louis, MO
  • Hon. Nanette Laughrey
    Judge, U.S. District Court, Western District of Missouri
    Jefferson City, MO
  • Hon. Stephen Limbaugh, Jr.
    Judge, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Missouri
    Cape Girardeau, MO
  • Hon. Hal Lowenstein
    Missouri Court of Appeals (Retired)
    Armstrong Teasdale
    Kansas City, MO
  • Professor Rodney Uphoff
    University of Missouri - Columbia
    School of Law
    Columbia, MO