chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

Congressman John Lewis Receives Thurgood Marshall Award

During the 2019 ABA Annual Meeting in San Francisco, Congressman John Lewis received the Section's annual Thurgood Marshall Award. The first non-lawyer to receive the award, which honors those who contribute to the advancement of civil rights, civil liberties and human rights, the U.S. representative from Georgia’s 5th congressional district said he had been arrested 40 times during the 1960s, plus another five times as a member of Congress.

About - the Award

Rhiannon Giddens Performs at Dinner

Inspirational Folk Singer and Songwriter Rhiannon Giddens gave a powerful performance during the 2019 Thurgood Marshall Award Dinner, honoring longtime civil rights hero Congressman John Lewis. She captivated the audience, largely made up of influential legal professionals and ABA leadership.

Submit a Nomination for 2020 Today!

Do you know an exceptional individual who has dedicated him/herself to the fight for civil and human rights? Nominations for the 2020 Thurgood Marshall Award are now open. Submissions are open until Tuesday, October 1, 2019.

See - Instructions

2019 Annual HOD Resolutions

The ABA policymaking body met August 12-13 at the 2019 Annual Meeting in San Francisco to debate and vote on a wide range of policy issues.