chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

John E. Echohawk Awarded the 2023 Thurgood Marshall Award

2023 Annual Meeting

John E. Echohawk, Executive Director of the Native American Rights Fund, has dedicated his life's work to fighting for Native justice and equality. The Section awarded Echohawk the 2023 Thurgood Marshall Award to celebrate his long-term contributions the advancement of civil rights in the United States.

About - the Dinner

Call for Nominations: 2024 Thurgood Marshall Award

Chicago, IL

Due by September 1

The American Bar Association Section of Civil Rights and Social Justice invites nominations for its annual Thurgood Marshall Award, established to honor and give public recognition to an individual or organization who has made an exceptional contribution to the advancement of human rights in the United States. The celebration will take place at a dinner on Saturday, August 3, during the 2024 ABA Annual Meeting in Chicago.

Submit - A Nomination

Thank you to our 2023 Sponsors

The Section deeply thanks each generous sponsor for its support that enables the Section to advance its programs and publications and better serve our community of advocates nationwide working to protect civil rights and social justice.