chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

Dr. Clarence B. Jones Awarded 2021 Thurgood Marshall Award

About the Event

On August 6, the Section honored legendary civil rights leader Dr. Clarence B. Jones with the 2021 Thurgood Marshall Award in a virtual celebration during the ABA Annual Meeting. The 1-hour program features poignant remarks from multiple esteemed guests, including colleagues throughout Dr. Jones's lifetime, as they paid homage to the legend. The virtual event was a joyous moment for the civil rights legal community, with acclaim pouring in from the audience. President Barack Obama also shared his thoughts on the awardee, and told the audience to "embrace action over resignation.

Learn - More

ABA Hybrid Annual Meeting Attendee Website

Missed an event? Special Events - like the Thurgood Marshall Award Celebration - are available on-demand on the ABA Hybrid Annual Meeting attendee website. Your login credentials are your ABA email address and meeting confirmation code.

Dr. Clarence B. Jones

About Dr. Clarence B. Jones

Serving as advisor and lawyer to Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Dr. Jones played a pivotal role in many events in the Civil Rights era, including assisting in the drafting of Dr. King’s momentous "I Have a Dream" address. After Dr. King’s death, Dr. Jones served as one of the negotiators during the 1971 prison riot at Attica, and was editor and part owner of the New York Amsterdam News from 1971 to 1974.

About - the 2021 Recipient

Thank you to our 2021 Sponsors

The Section deeply thanks each generous sponsor for its support that enables the Section to advance its programs and publications and better serve our community of advocates nationwide working to protect civil rights and social justice.

About the 2022 Celebration

The Thurgood Marshall Award was established to honor and give public recognition to an individual or organization who has made an exceptional contribution to the advancement of human rights in the United States. The 2022 Thurgood Marshall Award recipient will be honored during the 2022 ABA Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois. Sponsorship information and celebration details are forthcoming.