Children's Defense Fund Marian Wright Edelman to Receive 2020 Award

Virtual Celebration Scheduled

The Section will honor founder and president emerita of the Children's Defense Fund (CDF) Marian Wright Edelman with the 2020 Thurgood Marshall Award. Under her leadership as president for 45 years, CDF has become the nation’s strongest voice for children and families. The virtual celebration honoring Mrs. Edelman will take place on Friday, July 31 at 4:30 p.m. CT during the Annual Meeting.

About - the Recipient

Sponsorship Opportunities

Friday, July 31 | A Virtual Event

Join us at the 2020 Thurgood Marshall Award Celebration and support the Section’s charitable programs throughout the year. Our generous sponsors support programs that ensure that protection of civil rights remains a focus of legal and policy decisions.

About - Sponsorship

Congressman John Lewis Receives Thurgood Marshall Award

During the 2019 ABA Annual Meeting in San Francisco, Congressman John Lewis received the Section's annual Thurgood Marshall Award. The first non-lawyer to receive the award, which honors those who contribute to the advancement of civil rights, civil liberties and human rights, the U.S. representative from Georgia’s 5th congressional district said he had been arrested 40 times during the 1960s, plus another five times as a member of Congress.

About - the Recipient

Recognizing our Past Sponsors

Huge thanks to the 2019 Thurgood Marshall Award Dinner sponsors for your tremendous support of the Section and the honoree.