chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

Past Recipients

Established by the American Bar Association and the Section of Civil Rights and Social Justice (formerly the Section of Individual Rights and Responsibilities) in 2001, the Robert F. Drinan, Jr., Award for Distinguished Service is named in honor of the late Father Robert F. Drinan, a former member of Congress and a founding member of the Section. The award recognizes individuals whose sustained and extraordinary commitment to the Section has advanced its mission of providing leadership to the legal profession in protecting and advancing human rights, civil liberties, and social justice.

Past Recipients

2001              Father Robert F. Drinan

2002             John H. Pickering

2003              John J. Curtin, Jr.

2004              Marna S. Tucker

2005              Hon. Cruz Reynoso

2006              Jerome J. Shestack

2007              Talbot “Sandy” D’Alemberte

2008              Martha Barnett

2009              Michael S. Greco

2010              Llewelyn G. Pritchard

2011              Roy A. Hammer

2012              Brooksley E. Born

2013              Stephen F. Hanlon

2014              Ronald J. Tabak

2015              Walter H. White, Jr.

2016              Estelle H. Rogers

2017              Myles V. Lynk

2018              Stephen J. Wermiel

2019              Mark D. Agrast

2020              Robert N. Weiner

2021              C. Elisia Frazier

2022              Jerry Gardner