July 18, 2016

2015 Fall Institute

Program Fee:

__$195 for Government & Nonprofit Employees and Academics;

__$175 for Section Members in Government, Nonprofits and Academics;

__$250 for those in Private Practice;

__$225 for Section Members in Private Practice;

__$25 for Law Students. 

__ $50 for Thursday’s ticketed Town Hall & Reception; if not registered for the full conference

__$75 for lunch ticket only for awards luncheon



The Section is holding a block of rooms at the
Loews Madison Hotel, 1177 15th Street, NW Washington DC.

Rooms are $269 single/double and can be reserved by calling 855/325-6397 and
refering to the ABA Criminal Justice Section Fall Institute; or online:
Book by Thursday, October 1, 2015 @ 5:00 pm EST to receive this rate.

The ABA Criminal Justice Section Presents

The 8th Annual Fall Institute,

Council & Committee Meetings 

October 22 - 25, 2015

 Loews Madison Hotel
1177 15th Street, NW
Washington DC

Friday, October 23, 2015 |6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
Madison Loews Hotel

All Members and Guests are invited to attend the Criminal Justice Section's premier networking reception of the season. Attendence from the Section's executive committee, council and committee leaders, as well as criminal justice related professionals in the area will gather for cocktails and networking.

Please RSVP via email by Friday, October 12, 2015 to Carol Rose at carol.rose@americanbar.org

U.S. Rep. Steve Cohen (D-TN) will provide opening remarks.

ABA President-Elect Paulette Brown will speak during the CJS Awards Luncheon.

The Section's inaugural Awards Luncheon will be held during the CJS 8th Annual Fall Institute on October 23, 2015 in Washington, DC. The luncheon will feature remarks from ABA President-Elect Paulette Brown.

All five Criminal Justice Section Awards will be presented at the luncheon to the recipients listed below:

Charles R. English Award

Ronald Goldstock, Commissioner, Waterfront Commission of New York Harbor, Larchmont, NY
Awarded to judges, prosecutors, the defense bar, academics, and other attorneys who are members of the American Bar Association Criminal Justice Section and have distinguished themselves by their work in the field of criminal justice.

Frank Carrington Crime Victim Attorney Award

Lenore Anderson, Executive Director, Californians for Safety and Justice, Oakland, CA
Awarded to an attorney or legal service providers (including organizations) who have either directly represented specific victims in criminal, juvenile, or appellate courts or who have worked to promote or implement policies to improve the treatment of crime victims in the criminal justice system.

Livingston Hall Juvenile Justice Award

Mark Friedenthal, Assistant Public Defender, Office of the Public Defender, Baltimore MD
This award is given to an active member of the bar who devotes a significant portion of his or her legal practice to youth and children, and is making positive contributions to the field both in and outside the courtroom.

Norm Maleng Minister of Justice Award

Pearl Kim, Assistant District Attorney, Office of the District Attorney, Delaware County, Media, PA
This award is bestowed on a prosecutor who embodies the principles enunciated in the ABA Standards for Criminal Justice, Prosecution Function, particularly that “the Duty of the prosecutor is to seek justice, not merely to convict.”

Raeder-Taslitz Award

Professor James Coleman, Duke University School of Law, Durham, NC
This award is given to a law professor whose excellence in scholarship, teaching or community service has made a significant contribution to promoting public understanding of criminal justice, justice and fairness in the criminal justice system, or best practices on the part of lawyers and judges. 

New releases on the 2015 awards:

·        Pennsylvania lawyer to receive Norm Maleng Minister of Justice Award from ABA Criminal Justice Section

·        Baltimore lawyer Mark Friedenthal to receive ABA Livingston Hall Juvenile Justice Award

·        New York lawyer to receive Charles R. English Award from ABA Criminal Justice Section

·        Oakland lawyer Lenore Anderson to receive ABA Frank Carrington Crime Victim Attorney Award

·        Duke law professor to receive Raeder-Taslitz Award from ABA Criminal Justice Section