chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

About Us

The Unified Voice of Criminal Justice – With its diverse membership of judges, private criminal defense attorneys, prosecutors, public defenders, academics, and other professionals, the ABA Criminal Justice Section is uniquely situated to bring all the various actors to the table to address today's most pressing criminal justice issues.

The Chair's Welcome Message

The Chair of the ABA Criminal Justice Section for 2023-2024 is Tina Luongo of Legal Aid Society, New York.

The Chair's Message on Strategic Visioning

Results of the work of the Task Force on Strategic Visioning which collected insights from CJS members, staff, and others to refresh our priorities and chart a vision for the next few years.


Council positions for 2024

The CJS Leadership (2023-2024)

  • Chair

    Tina Luongo

    New York, NY

  • Chair-Elect

    Sidney Butcher

    Hanover, MD

  • First Vice Chair

    Melba Pearson

    Miami Beach, FL

  • Immediate Past Chair

    Justin Bingham

    Spokane, WA

  • Section Delegate

    Stephen Saltzburg

    Washington, DC

  • Section Delegate

    Neal Sonnett

    Miami, FL