chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
Standing Committee on Armed Forces Law

About Us

About the Standing Committee on Armed Forces Law

The Standing Committee on Armed Forces Law shall consist of seven members. The Committee shall have jurisdiction over matters relating to law in the Armed Forces. It shall study and make recommendations on: (a) the administration of laws, regulations and practices in the Armed Forces and the court-martial system; (b) the protection of the legal rights and constitutional guarantees of personnel in the Armed Forces; and (c) the ability of lawyers and judges in the Armed Forces to practice in conformity with all applicable Association standards.

Contact Us

Standing Committee on Armed Forces Law
American Bar Association
321 N. Clark Street, 17th Floor
Chicago, IL 60654-7598


Mary Meixner
Chief Counsel

Members (2023-24)

Joe Ahlers (Chair)
Prattville, AL

Louis J. Boston, Jr
Kensington, MD

Aaron Brown
Honolulu, HI

Hon. Paulette Vance Burton
Fredericksburg, VA

Deirdre Golden
Detroit, MI

CPT Angelica Frink Walker
Ft. Huachuca, AZ

CPT Matthew Wallace
Nashville, TN

Special Advisor

John Dewitt Altenburg, Jr.
Washington, DC

LT Nicholas Monck