Frank E.A. Sander Innovation in ADR Award

Frank E.A. Sander Award

Frank E.A. Sander

Frank E.A. Sander

Named for the father of Alternative Dispute Resolution and long-time Harvard Law School professor Frank Sander, the Frank E.A. Sander Innovation in ADR Award was established to recognize innovative methods and extraordinary achievements in the field of Alternative Dispute Resolution.  The award will be presented at a ceremony at the ABA Annual Meeting in San Francisco.

Award Criteria

Any organization or individual in the United States or Canada may apply or be nominated for having:

1) Developed a project, program, or approach that has improved access to justice through an innovative use of alternative dispute resolution; or

2) Demonstrated dedication to creating a sustainable, replicable and innovative solution that the public and others can use to efficiently and effectively resolve disputes outside of traditional court proceedings.


The application window for 2019 has closed.  Please check back in the Spring of 2020 for the new application procedure.

For questions, please contact Chase Hertel at via email.