Business Law Advisors


Larry W. Sonsini
Charles W. Mooney Jr.


Michael Halloran

Roberta Ramo

Thomas Sager


About the Program

The mission of the Business Law Advisors Committee is to support the work, outreach, and membership growth of Section committees through the affiliation with and active involvement in the committee of prominent individuals who have distinguished themselves, in private, in-house, or governmental practice, or as judges, academics, consultants, public officials, or leaders of non-governmental organizations, in fields of the law of interest to Section committees.

  • Up to 2 individuals are selected each year for a 2-year term through a Section-wide nomination process.
  • The Section sponsors Advisors attendance at meetings during their initial terms.
  • Advisors provide knowledge and insight to one or more substantive law committees in the areas of their expertise.
  • Advisors are lawyers with national reputations who have the experience and judgment necessary to help inform and educate younger members of the profession and can share the wisdom and knowledge they have accumulated over years of practice.
  • 40 Advisors have been involved in the program since 2001 and many are still actively involved in Section activities.

A critical feature of the Program is a commitment by selected Business Law Advisors to share wisdom and experience with members of the Section by:

  • Actively participating in two, assigned substantive committees
  • Attending the Business Law Section Annual Meeting and participating Business Law Advisors Committee luncheon; the Council Meeting; and their assigned substantive committee's meetings, programs and activities
  • Attending the stand-alone committee meeting of their assigned substantive committee
  • Attending the Section's Midwinter Leadership Meeting and participating in the Council Meeting
  • Attending the Section's Spring Meeting and participating in the Business Law Advisors Committee meeting; the Council Meeting; and their assigned substantive committee's meetings, programs and activities
  • Participating in Section Outreach activities for law students and young lawyers


Nomination Process

Submit a Nomination for a 2020-2022 Business Law Advisor

Each year a class of Business Law Advisors are selected by the former Chairs of the Business Law Section, based on nominations received from members of the Business Law Advisors Committee, Section Officers, the Chairs of the various Section committees and members of the Section Council. Each Advisor serves for a term of two years.

To nominate an Advisor, please complete the online Business Law Advisors Nomination form by March 6. 2020. Please contact Gina Dickinson at or (312) 988-5316 for more information.




  • Donald F. Parsons, Jr.


  • Thomas L. Ambro
  • Roland E. Brandel
  • Lucy H. Koh

Leadership Council

  • Brigida Benitez
  • Jeannie C. Frey
  • William D. Johnston
  • Barbara M. Mayden
  • Charles E. McCallum
  • Richard W. Pound
  • Thomas L. Sager
  • Steven L. Schwarcz