chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

About the Banking Law Committee

Jump to:

Mission Statement

The mission of the Banking Law Committee is to act as principal Business Law Section Committee dealing with laws relating to financial services activities conducted through banks, regulated non-bank financial institutions, and third-parties engaging with bank and non-bank financial institutions as service providers, partners, and in other key capacities.

Committee Facts

  • Provide meaningful meetings, programs and information to practitioners covering a wide range of banking law topics and, through our programs and task force activities, to be a significant resource to the membership and the Federal banking agencies.
  • Approximately 2,300 members.
  • Three in-person meetings a year: the Business Law Section Spring Meeting, the Business Law Section Fall Meeting, and a separate, standalone Winter Meeting in Washington, DC.
  • Committee meetings often include significant participation by regulators, policymakers, academics, and private practitioners 
    with an opportunity for dialogue.
  • Numerous active subcommittees focused on the full range of banking law topics.
  • Sponsored and co-sponsored programs relate to areas of significant interest to practitioners, including the latest developments in banking and financial services law practice.
  • Provide members significant opportunities to participate in our activities.

Areas of Expertise

  • Commercial and Real Estate Lending
  • Community Banking
  • Matters Related to Bank Compliance, Examination and Audit
  • Enforcement, Director Liability and Troubled Bank Matters
  • International Banking
  • Loan Workouts and Bankruptcy
  • Financial Institutions Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Payments and Electronic Banking
  • Retail Banking and Consumer Laws
  • Savings Institutions
  • Matters Related to Bank Securities, Capital Markets and Derivatives
  • Systemically Important Financial Institutions
  • Trust and Investment Services

Former Banking Law Committee Chairs

  • Maureen A. Young (2014-2017)
  • William F. Kroener, III (2011-2014)
  • Sarah Ann Miller (2008-2011)
  • James E. Scott (2005-2008)
  • Martin E. Lybecker (2002-2005)
  • Karol K. Sparks (1998-2002)
  • Harold B. Finn, III (1994-1998)
  • Michael J. Halloran (1992-1996)
  • Robert L. Bevan (1988-1992)

Committee Traditions

The Banking Law Committee has a few special traditions, reflecting its history and collegiality, including the Frank Simpson Award and the Banking Law Fundamentals Class.

This description is excerpted from Remarks of Harold B. Finn, Co-Chair of the Banking Law Committee, upon the Presentation of The Frank Simpson III Award at the Annual Fall Meeting of the Banking Law Committee on November 3, 1994.

[This award is presented] to persons who have served the Banking Law Committee in the tradition of Frank Simpson, our friend, colleague, and former Chair, who died on May 21, 1993, at the age of 65, after a long and courageous battle with cancer.

Frank was the midwife of the Banking Law Committee as we know it today. The Committee existed for decades, but it expanded from a relatively small band of attorneys in 1978 to about 200 members in 1984. The subcommittee structure that is now the backbone of the Committee was created by Frank [in 1981]. But most importantly, Frank created and sustained the collegial atmosphere of the Committee which makes it possible for all of us to speak freely at Committee meetings without fear of being criticized or scorned because we might make a mistake. Frank knew far more about banking law than most of us, yet he always welcomed our comments on the state of the law, as well as our suggestions and comments for administering the Committee, without ever being judgmental. Perhaps most of all, Frank was selfless, always thoughtful of others and a true friend. Indeed, in my last conversation with him, he went out of his way to offer to assist me in some relatively unimportant personal matter, never mentioning that he knew, as he must have known, that he was dying.

The Frank Simpson III Award is a teak plaque upon which is mounted on a ship's clock which rings eight bells in honor of Frank's love of the sea. We hope that these bells, as they ring every half hour, will be a perpetual reminder to the recipients of the Award, and to all of those around them, of Frank's qualities. The inscription on the plaque reads: For Outstanding Contributions to the Banking Law Committee in the Tradition of Frank Simpson III, a Gentleman Who Was Honest, Warm, Accepting, Forgiving and Always Thoughtful of Others.

Frank Simpson III Award Winners

  • Chris Bellini, 2021
  • John A. Buchman, 2020
  • John B. Rayburn, 2019
  • Paul L. Lee, 2018
  • William F. Kroener, III, 2017
  • Eugene Katz, 2016
  • Michael E. Bleier, 2014
  • Marty Lybecker, 2013
  • Sarah Ann Miller, 2012
  • Sara A. Kelsey, 2010
  • William J. Sweet, Jr., 2009
  • Ron Glanz, 2007
  • Larry Okinaga, 2006
  • Ed Lane-Reticker, 2005
  • James E. Scott, 2002
  • Harold B. Finn III, 1999
  • Ted McAniff, 1998
  • James D. McLaughlin, 1997
  • Julius L. Loeser, 1997
  • Beth L. Climo, 1997
  • Karol K. Sparks, 1997
  • Dennis J. Lehr, 1994
  • Robert L. Bevan, 1994

Banking Law Committee Journal Submissions

Committee members are invited to be guest columnists for the Banking Law Committee Journal. Articles may vary in length but usually are 4-5 pages double-spaced. Please submit your proposed articles or article outlines by email to Juan Sempertegui, Editor-in-Chief, at [email protected].

Fundamentals of Banking Law Course

Taught by members of the Banking Law Committee, Fundamentals of Banking Law (formerly Banking Law Basics) has been offered for over 20 years as a comprehensive overview of banking regulatory law by a highly experienced faculty of seasoned practitioners and former regulators who have also taught law school courses in banking regulation and related topics. The approach of this course, including choice of topics, interactive approach in the classroom, materials provided to the students, presence of the faculty through the entire program, and limited class size, is designed to come as close as possible on a short-term basis to replicating the experience of a law school class on banking regulation.  Additional information may be found on the Fundamentals of Banking Law Course site