chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
Vol. 32, No. 4

Nominations sought for awards given at Annual Meeting

Nominations are now being accepted for the following awards to be given at the 2008 ABA/NABE/NCBP/NCBF Annual Meeting in New York this August. Except where otherwise noted, the contact for more information about the awards and nominating procedures is Tondanisha Nevels, at (312) 988-5360 or [email protected].

E. Smythe Gambrell Professionalism Awards

These awards, given by the ABA Standing Committee on Professionalism, a component of the ABA Center for Professional Responsibility, recognize projects that enhance professionalism among lawyers. Bar associations, other not-for-profit law-related organizations, law schools, and law firms are eligible for the awards.

In conjunction with the ABA effort to better serve solo and small firm practitioners, the standing committee would like to remind potential applicants that programs designed to provide guidance to lawyers with practice management and skills issues are eligible for Gambrell Awards. These programs are particularly helpful to the solo practitioners and small firm lawyers, who often find themselves the subject of complaints to disciplinary agencies, but who often need practice assistance rather than discipline. Such programs allow lawyers to address the issues that have caused or may cause contact with the agencies, so that they can better serve their clients and avoid the discipline process in the future.

Up to three awards of $3,500 each will be given. Award criteria include: overall quality, replicability, likelihood of continuation, innovation, success, substantive strength in the area of professionalism, and scope.

The award is named for E. Smythe Gambrell, who served simultaneously as president of the ABA and the American Bar Foundation from 1955 to 1956. Gambrell founded the Legal Aid Society in Atlanta, where he practiced law from 1922 until his death in 1986.

The deadline for entries is March 31. Entry forms, guidelines, and information about previous award recipients are available online at Questions regarding the awards should be directed to Kathleen Maher at (312) 988-5307; [email protected].

Harrison Tweed Award

Named for an outstanding leader in the promotion of free legal services to the poor, this award was created in 1956 to recognize the extraordinary achievements of state and local bar associations that develop or significantly expand projects or programs to increase access to civil legal services to poor persons or criminal defense services to indigents.

The ABA Standing Committee on Legal Aid and Indigent Defendants and the National Legal Aid and Defender Association will present the 2008 Harrison Tweed Award in recognition of work accomplished during the year beginning April 1, 2007. Projects that began prior to that date will be considered if substantial services have been provided between April 1, 2007, and March 31, 2008. Nominations must be received by April 1.

A full description of the award, past recipients, and nominating procedures are available at or by contacting Tamaara Piquion at [email protected] or (312) 988-5756.

Bolton Award for Professional Excellence

The Bolton Award for Professional Excellence, considered the highest honor given by the National Association of Bar Executives, is named for Fred Bolton, who served as executive director and secretary of the Pennsylvania Bar Association from 1966 through 1977. Criteria for the award include: professionalism, character, and integrity; service to the legal profession; innovation; and service within NABE.

Nominations must be received no later than April 15. For more information, visit

LexisNexis Community & Educational Outreach Awards

These awards honor bar associations and foundations that are committed to public service. Candidates are bar associations and/or foundations whose staff are currently members of NABE, and that implemented outstanding public service and law-related education programs during the 2007 calendar year.

There is no limit to the number of nominations an association or foundation can submit, but a separate form must be completed for each project nominated. One award per membership category will be presented. Foundation projects that provide only funds to a program are not eligible for an award.

Entries will be assessed using the following criteria: overall program quality; effectiveness in achieving the desired objective; adaptability by other bar associations and foundations; innovation and originality in addressing problems; size and diversity of the target audience; and scope, importance, and duration of the benefits derived by the target audience.

Nominations, preferably sent electronically, must be received no later than April 15. For more information, visit

Peer Excellence Award

This award is for NABE’s “unsung heroes”—members who work behind the scenes in ways that benefit the organization as a whole. Nomination forms and award criteria are available at

Nominations must be received no later than April 15.

Award for Bar Foundation Excellence in Public Service Programming

The National Conference of Bar Foundations Award for Bar Foundation Excellence in Public Service Programming honors a bar foundation for its excellence and impact in either its programs or grant-making awards to its community. Entries are evaluated on project innovation, efficiency of execution, the project’s results, and its ability to be replicated by other bar foundations.

Evaluators take into account the wide range of sizes, experience levels, and degrees of sophistication among state, local, national, and international bar foundations. The underlying purpose of the award is to recognize the work of bar foundations everywhere that build communities, understanding, and hope.

Nominations must be received no later than April 30. For more information, visit

ABA Partnership Program Award

Co-sponsored by the ABA Standing Committee on Bar Activities and Services, the Hispanic National Bar Association, the National Asian Pacific American Bar Association, the National Bar Association, and the National Native American Bar Association, this award recognizes efforts by bar associations to increase diversity in the legal profession.

Nominations must be received no later than March 28. Project descriptions of previous entries are available at