chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

Program For Prospective Administrative Law Scholars

ABA Administrative Law Fellowship

The American Bar Association’s Section of Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice is pleased to sponsor the ABA Administrative Law Fellowship.  The Fellowship, established in 2021, aims to diversify the cohort of legal academics in administrative law and regulatory practice by positioning lawyers currently in practice to be successful job candidates in the academic market.  The Fellowship typically spans two academic years. It pairs Fellows, who are currently in practice or working full-time, with mentors in the legal academy.

Fellowship Details:  The core of the two-year fellowship program is matching each fellow with one primary mentor and two secondary mentors in the legal academy.  The goal of the mentoring match is to assist fellows with developing a research agenda, job-talk paper, and other application materials for the legal academic job market (doctrinal and clinical).  The program will also provide some general training on research methods and strategy.  The program seeks to affiliate fellows with a law school to provide access to online research and publication resources. Fellows will have the opportunity to present their work in connection with the Section’s conferences.  The fellowship will provide up to $1,500 a year to defer the costs of travel and accommodations for participation in the Section’s events, along with membership in the ABA and the Section.

 Application Information: The Selection Committee is charged with identifying “lawyers with scholarly promise and a strong interest in teaching who would contribute to the diversity of the legal academy in the fields of administrative law and/or regulatory practice.”  Fellows are expected to be employed full-time in legal practice.  Application materials should include:

  1. a cover letter that explains the candidate’s interest in the fellowship and how the candidate fits the fellowship criteria, including a diversity statement, and addresses why the candidate believes this fellowship opportunity is better suited to their circumstances than a full-time law school-run fellowship or Visiting Assistant Professor position, and identifies at least two references;
  2. a resume; and
  3. a writing sample, which may be material produced for legal practice, a blog, an article, a report, or other written work.

Application Timing and Submission:  Each year applications are due September 1. Applications should be sent via e-mail with attachments in pdf or Word format to [email protected]. The Selection Committee aims to select three or four fellows each year.

Questions:  Please direct questions about the fellowship to Anne Kiefer at [email protected].

2025 Program For Prospective Administrative Law Scholars Instructions

Program For Prospective Administrative Law Scholars Instructions

Alumni in Academics

Several Fellows have already secured academic positions.  They include:

Adam Crews, Rutgers Law School
Haiyun Damon-Feng, Cardozo School of Law
Alvin Velazquez, Mauer School of Law, University of Indiana Bloomington

Prior and Current Mentors

The Fellowship depends upon academics devoting their time to serve as mentors. The Section would like to thank the following individuals who are serving or have previously served as mentors to ABA Administrative Law Fellows as well as those who, in addition to mentoring roles, are serving or have previously served on the Committee Member which runs the program.

Emily Bremer, Notre Dame Law School (committee member)
Daniel Crane, University of Michigan School of Law
Ming Hsu Chen, UC Law San Francisco (formerly UC Hastings)
Madison Condon, Boston University School of Law
Aram Gavoor, George Washington University School of Law
Ari Glogower, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law
Ellen Goodman, Rutgers Law School
Kristin Hickman, University of Minnesota Law School
Andrew Hammond, University of Florida Law School
Emma Kaufman, NYU School of Law
Kathryn Kovacs, Rutgers Law School (committee member)
Joseph Landau, Fordham School of Law
Matthew Lawrence, Emory University School of Law (committee member)
Michael Livermore, University of Virginia School of Law
Mark Nevitt, Emory University School of Law
Dave Owen, UC Law San Francisco (formerly UC Hastings) (committee member)
John Pottow, University of Michigan Law School
Eloise Pasachoff, Georgetown Law
Zachary Price, UC Law San Francisco (former UC Hastings)
Shalini Ray, University of Alabama School of Law
David Rubenstein, Washburn School of Law (committee member)
Peter Shane, Ohio State University Moritz College of Law (committee member)
Jonathan Siegel, George Washington University School of Law
Kevin Stack, Vanderbilt Law School (committee chair)
Michael Vandenbergh, Vanderbilt Law School
Christopher Walker, University of Michigan School of Law
David Zaring, Wharton, University of Pennsylvania