chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

Annual Award for Outstanding Government Service Committee


Created in 1989, the Mary C. Lawton Award for Outstanding Government Service honors the memory of Mary Lawton, a distinguished career government lawyer who served on the Council of the Administrative Law Section from 1983-1986, and as Chair of the Section’s Judicial Review Committee from 1986 to 1988.  A graduate of Georgetown Law School where she was first in her class and on the Board of Editors of the Law Journal, Mary began her career in the Office of the Legal Counsel in the Department of Justice.  At DOJ, she rose through the ranks to become a Deputy Assistant Attorney General.  She received numerous awards from the Department of Justice.  After a brief stint as General Counsel of the Corporation for Public Broadcasting and service as Administrative Law Officer at the White House, Mary returned to the Justice Department as Counsel for Intelligence Policy.   

Committee Leadership

Daniel Cohen
Elaine Serlin Reiss

Hon. John Vittone

Award Nominations

View PDF information on how to submit a nomination for this award.