Utah CLE Requirements and Courses

Detailed jurisdiction information about MCLE regulations and general information accreditation of ABA CLE events, webinars, and on-demand CLE courses

CLE FAQ for Newly-Admitted Attorneys

Want to learn more about CLE generally, and explore CLE webinars and on-demand products specifically for newly-admitted attorneys?

Utah Newly-Admitted CLE Rules

For Utah new admittees, the first two-year reporting period ends on June 30 of the second complete year following the new lawyer’s year of admission to the Bar. New lawyers are required to complete the twelve-month NLTP mentoring term during their first year of admission to the Bar. Upon completion, new lawyers will receive 12 NLCLE hours. New lawyers are required to attend the New Lawyer Ethics Program. This program is offered two times per calendar year, typically in the spring and the fall. New lawyers need only attend 1 seminar. This class satisfies the ethics requirement. In addition to the 12 NLCLE credits earned from the NLTP and attending the New Lawyer Ethics Program, new lawyers must complete 12 additional accredited MCLE hours.

Utah General CLE Rules

  • Credit hours required: 24 hours per reporting period
  • Specialty credits required: 2 hours of legal ethics or professional responsibility, and 1 hour of professionalism and civility
  • Length of reporting period: 2 years 
  • Compliance date: June 30
  • Reporting date: July 31
  • Compliance group: Attorneys are assigned to 1 of 2 compliance groups reporting in either odd-numbered years or in even-numbered years. The compliance period begins on July 1st.
  • Minutes per credit hour: 60 minutes. To calculate credit for a specific program, divide the total length of the program in minutes by 60 and round down to the nearest half hour.
  • Limit on credit hours for distance learning programs: Attorneys can earn up to 12 CLE hours per reporting period via distance learning programs* (i.e. webinars, teleconferences, and recorded products) as long as the programs are accredited by the Utah State Board of CLE. ABA recorded product formats listed below are acceptable formats in Utah.
  • Attendance Reporting Procedure: The ABA reports attendance on behalf of attendees. 

MCLE Rule Changes

In reaction to the evolving situation related to the COVID-19 pandemic, most live in-person CLE events have been cancelled across the world. In response, state and other jurisdictions have have temporarily suspended the requirements that their attorneys attend in-person CLE to fulfill their MCLE requirements or adjusted deadlines, fees, or other aspects of their rules. Your state may have temporarily changed MCLE requirements.

Review Temporary - MCLE Rule Changes

State Contact Information

Utah Supreme Court Board of Continuing Legal Education, Utah Law & Justice Center, 645 South 200 East, Salt Lake City, UT 84111 | (801) 297-7035

General Credit CLE For Your State

From Evaluation to Onboarding: ...

...HOW TO MANAGE TECHNOLOGY CHANGES IN YOUR FIRM Learn from Eli Mattern and Jenevieve Haggard as they explore the ethical issues involved in implementing new law firm tech solutions. They cover it all: from evaluations of firm technology to proper roll-out and implementation.

Register - Now

A Note About MCLE Credit

The content on this page is for informational and educational purposes only. Each state has its own rules and regulations indicating what qualifies for CLE credit. Please contact your state MCLE regulatory entity for specific questions about your MCLE rules.