MCLE - Texas

Detailed jurisdiction information about MCLE regulations and general information accreditation of ABA CLE events, webinars, teleconferences, and on-demand CLE courses

MCLE Rules Changes

Under the Twelfth Emergency Order Regarding the COVID-19 State of Disaster, the Supreme Court of Texas has ordered all deadlines, whether prescribed by statute, rule, or order, that expired or would have expired between March 13, 2020, and June 1, 2020, are extended:

  1. in attorney professional disciplinary and disability proceedings; and
  2. relating to the issuance or renewal of certifications, licenses, or registrations issued by the Judicial Branch Certification Commission, or for fulfilling mandatory continuing education.

Deadlines have been extended as follows: 

  • March will have until May 31, 2020
  • April will have until June 30, 2020
  • May will have until July 31, 2020

November and December attorneys who are subject to suspension have been extended through June 30, 2020. Attorneys born in January or February will also be granted an automatic 60-day extension, which will prevent further non-compliance fees from being assessed. Any non-compliance fees currently owed will still be due at the end of the extension period. Attorneys born in January and February will have until May 31, 2020, to comply with MCLE requirements.

MCLE Requirements

Credit hours required: 15 hours per reporting period

Specialty credits required: 3 hours of ethics credit annually, by the last day of the month preceding their birth month

Length of reporting period: 1 year for attorneys licensed two years or more. Initial compliance period for newly licensed attorneys is two years. 

Compliance date: Last day of birth month

Reporting date: Last day of birth month

Compliance group: Varies by birth month. Attorneys must report annually.

Minutes per credit hour: 60 minutes. To calculate credit for a specific program, divide the total length of the program in minutes by 60 and round down to the nearest quarter hour.

Attendance Reporting Procedure: The ABA reports attendance on behalf of attendees.
 

Approval of ABA Programs

The ABA is an accredited provider in Texas and is approved for the following formats.

Approved ABA Live Program Formats 
Live, in-person meetings (e.g., National Institutes)
Live Webinars and Teleconferences

Approved ABA CLE Product Formats
On-Demand Online Courses

Recorded audio/video programs are approved for a one-year period from the original production/recording date. Most ABA CLE products are recorded from live accredited CLE activities and count as accredited CLE.

State Contact Information

State Bar of Texas
Minimum Continuing Legal Education
P.O. Box 13007
Austin, TX 78711-3007
(800) 204-2222 x1806 / (512) 427-1806
E-mail
Website

A Note About MCLE Credit

The content on this page is for informational and educational purposes only. Each state has its own rules and regulations indicating what qualifies for CLE credit. Certain programs, subjects, and formats may not receive credit in some states and there may be specific rules regarding who may earn credit or the maximum number of credit hours that may be earned with specific formats. Please contact your state MCLE regulatory entity for specific questions about your MCLE rules.