New Jersey CLE Requirements and Courses

Detailed jurisdiction information about MCLE regulations and general information accreditation of ABA CLE events, webinars, and on-demand CLE courses

CLE FAQ for Newly-Admitted Attorneys

Want to learn more about CLE generally, and explore CLE webinars and on-demand products specifically for newly-admitted attorneys?

New Jersey Newly-Admitted CLE Rules

Newly admitted attorneys in New Jersey must complete 24 credits of approved CLE in their first full two-year compliance period. Of the 24 credits: at least 4 credits must be in Ethics and/or Professionalism, and 15 credits must be in any 5 of the following 9 subject areas: New Jersey Basic Estate Administration; New Jersey Basic Estate Planning; New Jersey Civil or Criminal Trial Preparation; New Jersey Family Law Practice; New Jersey Real Estate Closing Procedures; New Jersey Trust and Business Accounting; New Jersey Landlord/Tenant Practice; New Jersey Municipal Court Practice; and New Jersey Law Office Management.

New Jersey General CLE Rules

  • Credit hours required: 24 hours per reporting period 
  • Specialty credits required: 4 hours in ethics and professionalism per reporting period
  • Length of reporting period: 2 years
  • Compliance date: December 31
  • Reporting date: March 31
  • Compliance group: There are 2 compliance groups determined by attorney birthday. Every attorney is permanently assigned to one of the compliance groups. Compliance Group 1 consists of attorneys born from January 1 through June 30; Group 1 certifies compliance in even-numbered years. Compliance Group 2 consists of those born from July 1 though December 31; Group 2 certifies compliance in odd-numbered years.
  • Minutes per credit hour: 50 minutes, rounded down to the nearest tenth.
  • Attendance Reporting Procedure: In New Jersey, the ABA relies on their reciprocity policies persuant to which our programs are deemed accredited once they are approved by another MCLE jurisdiction. All ABA programs are approved in California, New York, Georgia, Alabama, Illinois, Missouri and many others. New Jersey is a self-reporting state; attorneys certify compliance when required and on forms provided by the New Jersey board. New Jersey attorneys are not required to report individual course attendance as each course is completed, but must retain their certificates of attendance for at least 3 years and must produce them if audited.

MCLE Rule Changes

In reaction to the evolving situation related to the COVID-19 pandemic, most live in-person CLE events have been cancelled across the world. In response, state and other jurisdictions have have temporarily suspended the requirements that their attorneys attend in-person CLE to fulfill their MCLE requirements or adjusted deadlines, fees, or other aspects of their rules. Your state may have temporarily changed MCLE requirements.

Review Temporary - MCLE Rule Changes

State Contact Information

New Jersey Board of Attorney Certification CLE, 25 Market Street, Trenton NJ 08625 | (609) 984-3077

General Credit CLE For Your State

From Evaluation to Onboarding: ...

...HOW TO MANAGE TECHNOLOGY CHANGES IN YOUR FIRM Learn from Eli Mattern and Jenevieve Haggard as they explore the ethical issues involved in implementing new law firm tech solutions. They cover it all: from evaluations of firm technology to proper roll-out and implementation.

Register - Now

A Note About MCLE Credit

The content on this page is for informational and educational purposes only. Each state has its own rules and regulations indicating what qualifies for CLE credit. Please contact your state MCLE regulatory entity for specific questions about your MCLE rules.