MCLE - New Hampshire

Detailed jurisdiction information about MCLE regulations and general information accreditation of ABA CLE events, webinars, teleconferences, and on-demand CLE courses.

MCLE Rules Changes

On May 5, 2020, the NH Supreme Court issued an order regarding filing the NHMCLE Affidavit of Compliance. Active attorneys practicing in the State of New Hampshire must earn 720 minutes of continuing legal education (CLE) that meet New Hampshire Supreme Court Rule 53 criteria by June 30 of each reporting year and file the annual NHMCLE affidavit by July 1 of that reporting year. However, in light of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, an attorney who fails to file the certification of NHMCLE compliance on or before July 1, 2020, will receive an automatic extension of time to September 1, 2020, to file that certification, without imposition of a delinquency assessment or fine.  In the event that an attorney fails to comply with the extended NHMCLE requirement, a one-time delinquency fee of $300 will be assessed on September 2, 2020.  The extension of time does not apply to the date of payment of the 2020/2021 annual bar dues and court fees; nor does it apply to the date for filing the Trust Account Compliance Certification. https://www.nhbar.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/5-5-2020-order-extending-deadlines-for-MCLE-compliance-and-delinquency-fee-assessment.pdf

MCLE Requirements

Credit hours required: 12 hours per reporting period

Specialty credits required: 2 hours ethics per reporting period

Length of reporting period: 1 year 

Compliance date: June 30

Reporting date: June 30

Compliance group: All attorneys report annually.

Minutes per credit hour: 60 minutes. To calculate credit for a specific program, divide the total length of the program in minutes by 60 and round to the nearest quarter hour.

Limit on credit hours for recorded programs: Attorneys can earn up to 6 CLE hours via recorded programs. 

Attendance Reporting Procedure:
Effective for ABA programming beginning July 1, 2014. New Hampshire attendees must self-determine whether a program is eligible for credit, and self-report their attendance online at www.nhbar.org. The ABA cannot report your participation.

Approval of ABA Programs

Effective for ABA programming beginning July 1, 2014. The New Hampshire MCLE Board will no longer certify CLE courses for approval. New Hampshire attendees must self-determine whether a program is eligible for credit, and self-report their attendance online.

Approved Live Program Formats 
Live, in-person meetings (e.g., National Institutes) 
Live Webinars and Teleconferences

Approved CLE Product Formats
On-Demand Online Courses
    

State Contact Information

New Hampshire Minimum CLE Board
2 Pillsbury Street, Suite 300
Concord NH  03301-3502
(603) 715-3222
E-mail 
Website

A Note About MCLE Credit

The content on this page is for informational and educational purposes only. Each state has its own rules and regulations indicating what qualifies for CLE credit. Certain programs, subjects, and formats may not receive credit in some states and there may be specific rules regarding who may earn credit or the maximum number of credit hours that may be earned with specific formats. Please contact your state MCLE regulatory entity for specific questions about your MCLE rules.