For Young Lawyers

August, 2007

RPPT Announces New Fellows for 2007-2009

The Section of Real Property, Probate and Trust Law recently announced their new fellows for 2007-2009. The winners include Lila Shapiro Cyr of Baltimore, MD, Ekaterina V. Gill of Montgomery, AL, Marianne Kayan of Bethesda, MD, Nancy T. Le of San Francisco, CA, Karin Prangley of Chicago, IL and Arnettia S. Wright of Washington D.C.

The Section has increased the Fellows Program funding for 2007-2008, allowing six new fellows to join the section. The Fellows Program represents a commitment by the Section to increase the participation of young lawyers in Section activities. The goal of the program is to give active members of the Young Lawyers Division or state or local bar associations an opportunity to become involved in the substantive work of the Section, to develop future leaders of the Section, and to enhance knowledge about the work of the Section among members of the Young Lawyers Division and other young lawyers. We hope that, through their hard work, fellows will develop themselves, in the long run, into the future leaders of the Section.

The Fellowship appointment is for two years. To be considered for selection, a person must have practiced in the trust and estate or real property area for at least one year, be younger than 36 years of age or have been admitted to the bar less than 10 years, and have demonstrated leadership at the state or local bar level or in the Young Lawyers Division. As part of the Section’s commitment to diversity, at least two of the six fellows selected will be minority applicants.