General Practice, Solo & Small Firm Division

General Practice Section, Compleat Lawyer, Fall 1995

Active GPs/News of the Section

Section Names Nominating Committee for 1995-96
Section Chair John W. Clark, Jr., and Chair-Elect Robert R. Wright III have named the following Section members to the 1995-96 Nominating Committee:
  • Chair Earle F. Lasseter, 2nd Floor, 318 11th Street, Columbus, GA 31902
  • Frank E. Bazler, PMI Food Equipment Group, World Headquarters, Troy, OH 45374
  • John R. DeBarr, 51 Spinnaker Way, Coronado, CA 92118
  • Suzanne E. Graber, 138 Altura Way, Greenbrae, CA 94904
  • Victor B. Levit, Suite 4725, 101 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94111
The committee will meet to consider 1996-97 candidates for chair-elect, vice chair, secretary, and Council members at the Fall Meeting in Sedona, Arizona, October 19-22.

Section Leaders Elected at Annual Meeting
By acclamation, the following 1995-96 Section officers and Council members were elected in Chicago:

Chair-Elect Robert R. Wright III; Vice-Chair Michael E. Massie; Secretary Larry Ramirez; Council members-at-large Karen S. Byers, Charles J. Driebe, Pamila J. Brown, and Dwight L. Smith.

Link Award Winners Honored at Annual Meeting
Florida attorney Frank D. Hall received the 1995 GP Link "Bar Leader of the Year" Award for his significant contribution to the Florida Bar Association's General Practice Section, of which he is immediate past chair.

Under Hall's leadership, the Florida Bar Association's General Practice Section won the ABA General Practice Section's 1994 Project Award. Hall also was instrumental in launching town hall conferences for solo and small firm law practitioners.

The GP Link "Project Award" was presented to the General Practice Section of the Montgomery (Pennsylvania) Bar Association for its civil practice manual. The manual offers attorneys a practical guide to the forms, rules, and procedures of civil law practice in Montgomery County.

Sole Practitioners of the Year
Ann W. Lake of Dedham, Massachusetts, and Harvey Bernard Rubenstein of Wilmington, Delaware, received the 1995 Sole Practitioner of the Year Awards for their contributions to their communities and profession. The awards were presented at the Annual Meeting in Chicago by Lee S. Kolczun, chair of the Sole Practice and Small Firms Committee.

Ms. Lake, a sole practitioner for almost fifty years, specializes in probate law and domestic relations. She was the first female council member of the ABA General Practice Section and first female chair of the Section's Family Law Committee. She is currently a member of the Section's Marketing Board. Colleagues describe her as a pragmatist who keeps an observant eye on those most affected, yet most overlooked, in divorce: children.

Mr. Rubenstein has been a sole practitioner for more than thirty years, with a thriving practice in the areas of workers' compensation and personal injury. He is past-president of the Delaware State Bar Association and serves on the ABA's Standing Committee on Professional Discipline. As editor of the Delaware Bar Association newspaper, In re., he instituted the "yea" and "nay" format that later became a staple of the ABA Journal. He is recognized particularly for his work with young lawyers.

A Tasty Beginning
Many thanks to Regency Travel of Chicago for helping the Section kick-off its 1995 Annual Meeting. Regency--the official travel agency of the General Practice Section--treated Section members to drinks and hors d'oeuvres before the August 3 Council dinner.

It's Not Too Late
If you couldn't come to the Annual Meeting, maybe you'd likea little of the Annual Meeting to come to you. All of the General Practice Section's meeting programs were recorded and are available on audiotape through Teach 'Em, Inc. of Chicago. To order, call 800/225-3775 (or 312/467-0424 in Illinois).

Coming Right Up
October 19-22
Fall Council & Leadership Conference
Los Abrigados Resort & Spa
Sedona, Arizona

  • Chief Justices Forum. Chief Justice Stephanie Seymour,10th Circuit Court of Appeals, will moderate a discussion about the substantive and administrative issues many tribal courts are facing.

    Panelists will include the Honorable William Bluehouse Johnson, Laguna Pueblo; the Honorable Elbridge Coochise, Hopi; and the Honorable Charles Tate, Cheyenne-Arapaho and Kickapoo.

  • "Peacemaker" System of Justice. Chief Justice Robert Yazzi and Solicitor James Zion, both of the Navajo Nation, will demonstrate and describe the traditional Navajo peacemaking process.
  • Section Luncheon with Bruce Babbit, Secretary of the Interior.
  • Section meetings
  • Social events

February 1-4, 1996
Midyear Meeting
Baltimore, Maryland

May 2-5, 1996
Spring Meeting
Hyatt Dorado Beach Resort
Dorado, Puerto Rico

Back to Top