Division News
General Practice, Solo & Small Firm Division

Nominating Committee Report

The 2008-2009 Nominating Committee, consisting of Chair Betty Smith Adams, Jeffrey M. Allen, Alan O. Olson, Jennifer A. Rymell, and Stephen B. Rosales, met during the 2008 Fall Meeting in Santa Fe, New Mexico. The Committee submitted the following slate for the election of Officers and Council Members for the 2009-2010 Bar Year pursuant to Article 7 of the Division Bylaws:

For the position of Division Vice Chair, the Commit-tee nominates Laura V. Farber of Pasadena, California. She currently serves the Division as Secretary. Prior service includes, but is not limited to, Division Director (Administration) from 2006 to 2008, SWAT Team Chair, and Diversity Committee Chair. Other ABA service includes Young Lawyers Division Chair, 2001 to 2002; ABA Journal Board of Editors member, 2006 to the present; and Section Officers’ Conference as Executive Committee Member, 2003 to the present.

For the position of Division Secretary, the Committee nominates Benes Z. Aldana of Seattle, Washington. He served on the Council from 2004 to 2008. He currently serves as Special Advisor to the Division’s Diversity Committee. He has served as Division 2 Director (Member Benefits), 2007 to 2008; Division 3 Coordinator (now known as Practice Specialty), 2004 to 2005; and Special Advisor to the Membership Committee, 2003 to 2005. Other ABA service includes, but is not limited to, ABA Standing Committee on Judicial Independence, 2007 to the present; Government and Public Sector Lawyers Division Council, 2006 to the present; and prior leadership positions within the Young Lawyers Division.

For the position of Council Member-at-Large, the Committee nominates Christine G. Albano of Frisco, Texas. She served as one of the two Young Lawyer Fellows from the Young Lawyers Division to the GP|Solo Division from 2007 to 2008 and participated in several substantive practice committees. As a member of the Young Lawyers Division, she also attended several diversity workshops. She has been extremely active with the Texas Bar, particularly its Texas Young Lawyers Division, as well as the Collin County Bar Association and the Dallas Women Lawyers Association.

For the position of Council Member-at-Large, the Committee nominates William E. Brown of Charlottesville, Virginia. He has served as Chair of the Strategic Communications Committee from 2005 to 2006, was a member of the Military Lawyers Committee from 2007 to 2008, and has chaired the Military Dining Out at the 2004 Atlanta Annual Meeting. Deployment to Iraq interrupted his Division involvement.

For the position of Council Member-at-Large, the committee nominates Edd Vasquez of New York, New York. He was a Diversity Fellow and received the Division’s Star of the Quarter Award for his service as Chair of the Diversity Today Committee as well as the Tomorrow’s Leaders Award. Outside the Division he served on the Presidential Advisory Council on Diversity in the Profession, and he was the Hispanic National Bar Association Representative to the Young Lawyers Division’s Council.

For the position of Council Member-at-Large, the Committee nominates J. Anthony Vittal of Los Angeles, California. He will chair the Host Committee for the Fall 2009 Meeting. He served on the Editorial Boards for both GPSolo Technology and Practice Guide and the GP|Solo Technology e-Report. He is serving on the Outreach and Technology Committees. Outside the Division he is again serving as a Delegate to the House of Delegates representing the State Bar of California. He is active in the ABA Tort Trial and Insurance Practice Section as Chair Elect of its Law and Technology Committee and has been very active in the Beverly Hills Bar Association, the Los Angeles Bar Association, and other local bars.

For the position of Council Member-at-Large, the Committee nominates Stephen D. Williams of Flemington, New Jersey. He served as a member of the Division’s Outreach Committee from 2007 to 2008 and helped plan both Solo Day at the 2008 New York City Annual Meeting and the Spring 2008 Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana. He has been named to serve as Co-Chair in 2009-2010 for the Chair Elect’s National Bar Passage Project.

Copyright 2009

Back to Top