GPSolo Magazine - September 2006

Division News
General Practice, Solo and Small Firm

Nominations for Election to Division Officer and Council Positions

The Division’s Nomination Committee for 2006-2007 is jennifer j. rose, Michoacán, Mexico (Chair); Paula J. Frederick, Atlanta, Georgia; Betty Smith Adams, Columbia, Maryland; Elio F. Martinez Jr., Miami, Florida; and Patricia A. Sexton, Kansas City, Missouri. The Committee will meet during the 2006 Fall Meeting in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, October 18 to 22, to nominate individuals for the positions of Division Secretary and Members-at-Large of the Council. The Committee will nominate five Council Members-at-Large to serve four-year terms. Applications are due by October 6, 2006. Please submit your completed application to the ABA General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Division, 321 N. Clark Street, Chicago, IL 60611, or send it via fax to 312/988-5711 or via e-mail to For an application visit our website at

Last Chance to Register!

Register today for the 2006 Fall Meeting, to be held October 18 to 22 at the Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Call the Division office at 312/988-5640 or visit our website at for registration information.

2006 GP|Solo Division Award Winners

The following award recipients were honored at the 2006 GP|Solo Awards Dinner on August 3 during the ABA Annual Meeting.

The Donald C. Rikli Solo Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Allen M. Smallwood of Tulsa, Okla- homa. This award recognizes a lawyer who has during his or her professional lifetime worked diligently toward the betterment of the nation’s sole practitioners.

The GP|Solo Division presented two Solo and Small Firm Project Awards, one to the Missouri Bar Solo and Small Firm Committee for the Solo and Small Firm Law Student Initiative (Fredrick J. Cruse, Chair) and one to the DuPage County Bar Association for the William E. Hooper Attorney Resource Center (Keith E. Roberts Jr., President). This award is designed to recognize bar leaders and associations for successful projects and the effective use of resources, regardless of overall budget.

The Annual Small Firm Practitioners Merit Award was presented to Marvin S. C. Dang of Honolulu, Hawaii. This award recognizes small firm practitioners throughout the country who through their efforts have shown outstanding dedication to the practice of law.

2006-2007 Diversity Fellows

The Diversity Fellows Program is designed to promote ethnic diversity within the Division, recruit members of color, and provide leadership development opportunities within the Division for members of color.

Each year the Division’s Diversity Committee and Membership Board identifies and nominates four lawyers of color to be appointed by the Chair-Elect to funded fellowship positions within the Division, effective during the following bar year. Upon completion of successful active participation in the first scholarship year, these participants will be appointed to regularly funded positions within the Division the following bar year, giving consideration to the Division’s existing needs and the participants’ preferences based upon their first year of participation. The Division welcomes the Diversity Fellows for the 2006-2007 bar year: Youshea Berry, Washington, D.C.; Lisa Chang, Atlanta, Georgia; Jane Kow, San Francisco, California; and Richard Evangelista, Kingshill, Virgin Islands.


Back to Top