GPSolo Magazine - Oct/Nov 2003

Section News

Section Awards Presented at Annual Meeting

The General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Division hosted its annual Section Luncheon and Awards Ceremony during the 2003 Annual Meeting. President-Elect Robert J. Grey Jr. gave a moving keynote address prior to the award presentations by Karen J. Mathis and General Earl E. Anderson during the luncheon on August 8, 2003.

The recipient of the GP Link Bar Leader Award was Melissa DeLacerda, president of the Oklahoma Bar Association. The award was established to recognize the significant contributions of a bar leader who currently serves or has served as an officer of a general practice, solo, and small firm entity. It also represents an individual who has truly made a difference during the course of his or her leadership.

The GP Link Project Award, designed to reward bar leaders and associations for their successful projects, was presented to the Lake County Bar Association (Ted Klammer, president) for the "Meet Your Judge" project, prepared by Hon. Michael A. Cicconetti.

The annual Small Firm Practitioner Merit Award was presented to Donna Rose. This award recognizes small firm practitioners throughout the country whose efforts have shown outstanding dedication to the practice of law.

The Sole Practitioner of the Year Award is intended to recognize exceptional, meritorious achievement by a sole practitioner. The 2003 award was presented to Steve R. Sorenson

The Donald C. Rikli Solo Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a lawyer who has during his or her professional lifetime worked diligently toward the betterment of the nation's sole practitioners. The 2003 recipient was Jay Foonberg.

The Section Welcomes New Council Members and Student Liaison

New 2003-2004 Council Members-at-Large
Gary L. Anderson
Joan M. Burda
Corinne Cooper
Joseph A. DeWoskin
Laura V. Farber
Judy A. Toyer

New 2003-2004 Law Student Division Liaison
Kimothy M. Sparks

2003-2004 Diversity Fellows Announced

The ABA General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Division is pleased to announce its three new Diversity Fellows. The 2003-2004 Fellows are William Brown of Forest Park, Georgia; Olu Stevens of Louisville, Kentucky; and Edd Vasquez of Washington, D.C. The Section's Diversity Committee and Membership Board choose the three lawyers of color, who are appointed by the Chair-Elect to funded fellowship positions within the Section to be effective during the following bar year. Upon completion of successful active participation in the first scholarship year, these participants are then appointed to regularly funded positions within the Section the following bar year, giving consideration to the Section's existing needs and the participants' preferences based upon their first year's participation.


Back to Top