A service of the ABA General Practice, Solo & Small Firm Division

General Practice, Solo & Small Firm Division

The Buzz









ABA GPSolo Nominating Committee Report

The ABA GPSolo Nominating Committee, consisting of Chair N. Kay Bridger-Riley, Chauntis T. Jenkins, Alan O. Olson, Stephen B. Rosales, and Patricia A. Sexton, met during the 2010 Fall Meeting in Austin, TX. The committee submitted the following slate for the election of officers and council members-at-large for the 2011–2012 bar year pursuant to Article 7 of the GPSolo Division Bylaws.

For the position of Division Vice Chair, the Committee nominates Jennifer A. Rymell of Fort Worth, TX. Jennifer currently serves our Division as Secretary. For the position of Division Secretary, the Committee nominates Amy Lin Meyerson of Weston, CT. For the position of Council Member-at-Large, the Committee nominates Noah C. Davis of Seattle, WA; H. F. “Sparky” Gierke of Orlando, FL; Rick L. Lambert of Dallas, TX; Jeffrey C. Robinson of Selma, AL; and Sarah Sharp Theophilus of Sioux Falls, SD.


The General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Divisions will honor its 2011 award in the areas of Solo and Small Firm Lifetime Achievement and Solo and Small Firm Project Award Winners at the Spring Meeting Awards Luncheon on May 13, 2011, 11:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at the Four Seasons Hotel, St. Louis, MO, Ballroom C.

Solo and Small Firm Lifetime Achievement Award

Presented to Mr. Sylvester James, Jr., of The Sly James Firm, P.C. (Kansas City, MO). Mr. James is a former President of the Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association and former member of the Missouri Bar Board of Governors. He is currently the chair of the KCMBA Diversity Committee, a fellow of the American Bar Association and a member of the board of governors of the Missouri Association of Trial Lawyers. On March 22, 2011, Mr. James was elected Mayor of Kansas City, Missouri. He will be sworn in to office on May 1, 2011.
The award recognizes attorneys who have wide acceptance as having significant lifetime distinction as solo or small firm practitioners. It recognizes exceptional achievement by solo and small firm practitioners who are widely accepted by their peers as having consistently achieved distinction in an exemplary way. The winners will be viewed by other solo and small firm practitioners as epitomizing the ideals of the legal profession and of solo and small firm practitioners.

Solo and Small Firm Project Award

Presented to the New York State Bar Association, (Albany, NY) that offered a full-day continuing legal education (CLE) program and networking opportunity called (Building a Successful Solo/Small Firm Practice: Taking Steps to Achieve Success”). The program was offered in Manhattan and Albany.

The award is design to reward bar leaders and associations for their successful implementation of a project or program specifically targeted to solo and small firm lawyers.

The ABA General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Division’s awards program is underwritten by the generous support of West, a Thomson Reuters business.

West Logo


2011–2012 Fellowship Programs: Call for Nominations

The Diversity Fellowship Program is designed to promote diversity within the Division and the ABA, while providing leadership development opportunities within the Division for women, attorneys of color, and those with disabilities and persons of differing sexual orientations and gender identities.

The GPSolo Division is committed to increasing the participation of young lawyers in Division activities. The Young Lawyers Fellowship Program provides young lawyers the opportunity to become actively and integrally involved in the Division’s meetings and committees.

Diversity and Young Lawyers applications are due by April 30, 2011. For more information visit our website.



The Buzz is distributed automatically to members of the ABA General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Division.

© Copyright 2011 American Bar Association.