A service of the ABA General Practice, Solo & Small Firm Division

General Practice, Solo & Small Firm DivisionThe Buzz







Call for Nominations of Officers and Council Members Election: 2010–11

The following members have been appointed to serve as the Nominating Committee for the FY2010 bar year: Alan Olson (chair) and members N. Kay Bridger-Riley, Chauntis Jenkins, Stephen Rosales, and David Lefton.

The Nominating Committee will meet during the 2009 Fall Meeting in Los Angeles, October 15–17, at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel to nominate individuals for the positions of Division vice chair, secretary, and members-at-large of the Council. In accordance with section 4.4 of the bylaws, the committee will nominate five council members-at-large to serve four-year terms. Minority applicants are encouraged. The duties, terms of office, and eligibility requirements for each of the positions to be filled are outlined in the Division bylaws.

Please return your completed questionnaire to the Division Office via email at genpractice@abanet.org or via fax at 312-988-5711 or mail directly to ABA, General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Division, 321 N. Clark Street, Chicago, IL 60654. It must be postmarked by Thursday, October 1, 2009.

House of Delegates

Congratulations to Seth Rosner on his election as a Delegate-at-Large to the House of Delegates at the 2009 Annual Meeting in Chicago.

Welcome, New Council Members and Liaison!

  • Christine G. Albano of Frisco, TX
  • William E. Brown of Gordonsville, PA
  • Edd Vasquez of New York, NY
  • J. Anthony Vittal of Los Angeles, CA
  • Stephen Williams of Flemington, NJ

Law Student Division Liaison

Justin Silverman of Auburndale, MA

Diversity and Young Lawyers Fellowships

Congratulations and Welcome to the 2009–10 Diversity Fellows!

  • Chauntis T. Jenkins of New Orleans, LA
  • Ignacio Pinto-Leon of Houston, TX
  • Ireneo A. Reus III of Long Beach, CA
  • Daniel J. Tann of Philadelphia, PA

Congratulations and Welcome to the 2009–10 Young Lawyer Fellows!

Doris L. Gruntmeir of Muskogee, OK
Sarah Sharp Theophilus of Sioux Falls, SD

Difference Makers Awards Program

Congratulations to the 2009 Difference Makers Awards Winners!

The ABA General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Division is pleased to announce the winners of the annual Difference Makers Awards. Winners will be honored at the Division’s 2009 Fall Meeting and National Solo & Small Firm Conference Awards Ceremony in Los Angeles, California, at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel, Friday, October 16, 2009, 6:30 – 9:00 p.m.

Holly J. Fujie, Los Angeles, CA
Making a Difference Through Service to the Profession – This award honors an attorney, living or deceased, who made a significant contribution to the legal profession through service to the profession (i.e., frequent activities in bar associations, committees, and services).

Dr. Edgar S. Cahn, Washington, DC
Making a Difference Through Community Service– This award honors an attorney, living or deceased, who made a significant lifetime contribution to the local community through community service. The award recognizes a lawyer who does a lot of community work, which does not necessarily mean specifically bar work or pro bono work per se.

Barbara J. King, Albany, NY
Making a Difference Through Pro Bono Work– This award honors an attorney, law firm, corporate legal department, government attorney office, or institution in the legal profession that has made an outstanding commitment to volunteer legal services for the poor and disadvantaged. This award recognizes an outstanding local attorney or group that does pro bono work.

The Difference Makers Awards recognize extraordinary lawyers who “made a difference” by breaking down barriers for women, people of color, people with disabilities, and people of diverse sexual orientations. The awards are presented at the Fall Meeting. These awards have since been expanded to honor local attorneys whose dedication has made a difference to the profession or the community in which the Division’s Fall Meeting is held. However, the winners are not limited to only those in the local community. Rather than recognizing only solo/small firm lawyers or those working in the solo/small firm sections of local and state bars, these awards are intended for lawyers from any size firm, educators, judges, and so forth, who fulfill one of the award categories. At the Fall Meeting in Los Angeles, recognition is given for Making a Difference through Community Service, Service to the Profession and Pro Bono Work.

The ABA General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Division’s awards program is underwritten by the generous support of West, a Thomson Reuters business.


The Buzz is distributed automatically to members of the ABA General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Division.

© Copyright 2009 American Bar Association.