General Practice, Solo & Small Firm Division

A service of the ABA General Practice, Solo & Small Firm Division


American Bar Association - Defending Liberty, Pursuing Justice

August 2008

Awards & Nominations

Want to highlight a member’s accomplishment? Send information to Kim Anderson at

On this page…

2008 Military Awards »

Standing Committee on Armed Forces Law
presented the following awards to our Armed Services members.

Outstanding Military Service Career Judge Advocate Award
Colonel Louis J. Puleo, United States Marine Corps
Captain Thomas R. Cahill,United States Coast Guard
Captain Kirk Waits, United States Navy
Lieutenant Colonel Dawn M.K. Zoldi, United States Air Force
Colonel Robert A. Burell, United States Army

2008 Keithe E. Nelson Distinguished Service Award
Commander Albert S. Janin IV, United States Navy

2008 Division Council Awards »

Chairman’s Awards were presented by Keith B. McLennan at the 2008 Annual Meeting to the following Committee Chairs and Officers:
Joan M. Burda, GP|Solo Board
Youshea A. Berry, Real Estate Law Committee
John S. Cooke, Military Law Committee
Deborah G. Matthews, National Solo and Small Firm Conference
Patricia A. Sexton, Membership Committee
Bryan S. Spencer, Military Law Committee
H. Stanley Riffle, Budget Officer
John P. Macy, Immediate Past Chair
Dwight L. Smith, Past Chair
Charles A. White, Revenue Development Director

Staff Awards »

Chair, Keith B. McLennan presented Star of the Quarter Awards to:

Division One
Bruce Hopson, Chair, Public Service Committee

Division Two
Jeff Solomon and Vicki Levy Eskin, for their work on the Annual Solo Day at the 2008 Annual Meeting.

Division Three
Youshea Berry, Chair, Real Estte Law Committee

Division Four
Gen. John Cooke, Chair, Military Law Committee
Jay Ray, Chair, Young Lawyers Committee

Staff Awards »

Chair, Keith B. McLennan presented Awards for Outstanding Service to GP|Solo staff:

Dee C. Lee, Acting Director (2007-2008)
Laura Ramirez, Meetings Manager

2008 Goal IX Honor Roll »

At the reception, held Monday, August 11, 2008 at The Hilton, New York, NY, the American Bar Association Commission on Mental and Physical Disability Law honored the 2008 Paul G. Hearne Award Recipient, Lester T. Pritchard of Illinois. The Paul G. Hearne Award is presented annually and honors an individual who or an organization that has performed exemplary service in furthering the rights, dignity, and access to justice for Americans with disabilities. The recipient is chosen based on nominations by peers in the disability community. The Commission also honored the General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Division, one of the ABA entities chosen to be on the ABA’s Goal IX Honor Roll for their dedication to increasing opportunities for lawyers with disabilities within the entity.

Former Division 1 Director, Laura Farber accepted the the Goal IX Honor Roll Award on behalf of GP|Solo.